tractors and equipment and it was agreed that this matter should be examined jointly with a view to working our mutually satisfactory arrangements. They also urged the elimination of the manufacturing clause in United States copyright legislation and the relaxation of restrictions on United States imports of aged Canadian cheddar cheese. Canadian members drew attention to the problem created from time to time because of the crossborder movement of relatively small quantities of agricultural products at depressed prices usually at or near the end of the marketing season. The Committee agreed that continued efforts would be made to work out acceptable solutions to these problems. Other topics discussed included trade in lead and zinc, and the Saint John River development.

The Committee expressed pleasure that agreement had been reached regarding winter maintenance for the Haines Cutoff portion of the Alaska Highway and discussed possible improvements in the Alaska Highway system.

The Committee took note of the studies at present being undertaken by the International Joint Commission which, at the request of the two Governments, is investigating a number of questions of economic and general public interest relating to boundary waters and pollution of air and water.

Meetings of the Joint Ministerial Committee have in the past been held alternately in Ottawa and Washington. On the occasion of the Centennial of Canada's Confederation, this meeting was held in Montreal which provided an opportunity for members of the Committee to visit EXPO '67.

The United States Secretary of State, the Honorable Dean Rusk and the Canadian Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Paul Martin were unable to participate in the meeting as planned because of the Emergency Session of the United Nations General Assembly.

The United States was represented by Secretary of the Treasury, the Honorable Henry H. Fowler (Chairman of the Delegation); United States Ambassador to Canada, the Honorable W. Walton Butterworth; Secretary of Agriculture, the Honorable Orville L. Freeman; Secretary of Commerce, the Honorable Alexander B. Trowbridge; Under Secretary of the Interior, the Honourable Charles F. Luce; Chairman of the President's Council