## MELVILLE CHURCH, FERGUS

Fordyce, Francis Anderson, Charles Allan, John Munroe and Geo. Sl.eie. In 1840 it was found necessary to elect the following five elders: James Webster, John McKee, John Wilkie, William Gerrie and Thomas Dow. In August 1844 there were added: A. D. Ferrier, W. Gibbon, and W. Kilpatrick. In February 1853, John Martin, James Gerrie, James Ross, W. Clark, and James Beattie. In October 1861, George Wilson, Alex. Taylor, Adam Argo. In December 1865, Forbes Moir, I c. or Dow. James Dow, James Davidson, Samuel Dobbin, John Rutherford in February 1877, Robt. Phillips, William Castell, Peter Rennie, Hugh Black, John R'chardson. In February 1888, George Tower Fergusson. In Sep ember 1890, James McDonald, David Nairn, Robt. Mo rico, F. B. Anderson, William Ross, Dr. J. P. Roger. In February 1903. A. A Arms'rong, William Barnet, Jas. R. Caldwell, J. C. Templin, December 1305, John J. Sanderson, William Mitchell, James Altken, James Walker. In October 1912, George Cruden, William Rutherford.

Daving all these years there were but four Session Clerks, namely: A. D. Forrier, no ably filled the position until 1884, Dr. Smellie acting pro tem due of his absences in the Old Country; from July 1888 to December 1900, William Castell; to December 1905, Dr. Roger; from January 1905 to date, J. C. Templin.



Interior of Old Melville Church.

In the early days the Kirk Session was a somewhat dread body in the habit of exercising a very strict discipline and freely summoning near-bets before it on charges of Sabbath desceration, non-attendance at charch, quarrel-omeness, profanity, intoxication, and still more serious off-oness; and an old practice was observed of calling at the church door 'three several times' the names of offending parties cited to appear. It was the beadle who magnified his office in the discharge of this function.