GENERAL PROVISIONS.

III. And be it enacted, That in Lower Canada, the Counties Representaof Gaspe, Bonaventure, Rimousky, Temiscouata, Kamouraska, tion of the se-L'Islet, Bellechasse, Dorchester, Etchemin, Beauce, Megantic, veral Electo-Lotbinière, Saguenay, Montmorency, Quebec, Portneuf, Cham-ral Divisions in Lower Ca-5 plain, Maskinongé, Nicolet, Yamaska, Berthier, Joliette, Leinster, nada. L'Assomption, Terrebonne, Two-Mountains, Argenteuil, Stanstead, Brome, Shefford, Missisquoi, Richelieu, Henryville, Rouville, Verchères, Lacolle, Chambly, Laprairie and Huntingdon, shall each be represented, one Member in the Legislative Assembly; the 10 Counties of Ottawa, Saint Hyacinth, Beauharnois, Vaudreuil and Montreal, shall be represented therein, each by two Members; the Cities of Quebec and Montreal, each by three Members; the United Counties of Bagot and Tadoussac, by one Member; the United Counties of Drummond and Arthabaska, by one Member; the Town 15 of Three-Rivers, and the County of Saint Maurice together by one Member: and the Town of Sherbrooke with the United Counties of Sherbrooke and Dudswell together by two Members :- And that And in Upper in Upper Canada, the Counties of Perth, Essex, Kent, Lamb-Canada. ton, Elgin, Norfolk, Haldimand, Welland, Lincoln, Brant, 20 Halton, Waterloo, Wellington, Grey, Peel, Peterborough, Victoria, Prince Edward, Frontenac, Grenville, Dundas, Stormont, Glengarry, Carleton and Renfrew, shall each be represented by one Member in the Legislative Assembly; the United Counties of Huron and Bruce by one Member; the United Coun-25 ties of Lennox and Addington by one Member; and the United Counties of Prescott and Russell by one Member; the Counties of Middlesex, Oxford, Wentworth, Ontario, York, Simcoe, Durham, Northumberland, Hastings, Leeds and Lanark, shall each be represented in the Legislative Assembly by two Mem-30 bers; the City of Toronto shall also be represented therein by two Members; the Western Towns by one Member, the Niagara Towns by one Member; the Brant Towns by one Member; Hamilton and Dundas by one Member; the Lake Towns by one Member; Kingston and Picton by one Member; the River 35 Towns by one Member; and Bytown and Perth by one Member.

IV. And be it enacted, That the qualifications of persons Qualification entitled to vote at Elections of Members in the said Counties, of Electors. Cities and Towns, shall be those now fixed by law with regard to the Counties, Cities and Towns respectively now returning 40 Members to the said Legislative Assembly, except in so far as it may be otherwise ordered by this Act or by any Act to be passed during the present or any future Session; And provided Proviso; as to also, that the several Cities and Towns which will under this Cities and Act, either alone or as united with others into an Electoral Towns. 45 Division, have the right to elect a Member or Members to

Election of Members to represent the said Counties in the

represent them respectively in the said Legislative Assembly, shall be deemed hereafter not to form part of the Counties within the limits whereof they respectively lie, as regards the