MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS (No. 1)

House of Commons, Room 268, Wednesday, June 10, 1931.

The Select Standing Committee on Privileges and Elections met this day at eleven o'clock a.m., the Chairman, Mr. Hanson presiding.

The following members were present: Messrs. Anderson, Burns, Casgrain, Casselman, Duff, Elliott, Esling, Gray, Hanson, Jacobs, Lapointe, Lawson, MacNicol, Stinson, Thompson, Turnbull.

The chairman read the Order of Reference of June 4, relative to an inquiry into the registration and polling of the votes or other related matter in connection with the election in the electoral division of Simcoe East, on July 28, 1930.

On motion of Mr. Thompson, <u>Resolved</u> that the following persons be summonsed to appear before the Committee at 11 o'clock a.m., on Thursday, June 18:-

Alexander Campbell, Port McNicoll, Ont. Frederick Banjamin Chidwick, Port McNicoll, Ont. Dennis Arthur Daley, Port McNicoll, Ont. James G. Harvie, Orillia, Ont. Jos. J. D. McNamara, Penetanguishene, Ont. James G. Young, Port McNicoll, Ont. Jules Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer, Ottawa. Colonel O. M. Biggar, K.C., Ottawa.

Mr. Lawson referred to the advice given the Chief Electoral Officer by Colonel Biggar, as suggested by correspondence included in the Return laid on the Table of the House on May 27, and stated that in his opinion any memorandum confirming such advice should be produced before the Committee. After some discussion on the nature of the documents to be produced, the Chairman called the attention of the Committee to Section 76 of the Dominion Elections Act 1927, subsection (5) of which provides that no other documents than those referred to under subsection (2) "shall be inspected or produced except under a rule or order of a Superior Court or of a judge thereof."

The Committee then adjourned till Thursday, June 18, at 11 o'clock a.m.

Aufin chremanet

Clerk of the Committee