larger than the latter. England Proper is divided into 40 counties or shires, and Wales into 12; which. with their chief towns, are as follows:

Le

Ru No

W٤

Wd

Gl

Ox

Bu

Be

Lin

Hu

Car

No

Suf

Ess

He

Mi

Sui

Ke

Su

Be

W H

D

SIX NORTHERN.

| COUNTIES OR | SHIRRS. | - | CHIEF TOWNS.* |
|-------------|---------|---|---------------|

Northumberland . NEWCASTLE-ON-TYNE, Berwick, Alnwick, Morpeth

Cumberland . . . CARLISLE, Whitehaven, Wigton, Keswick, Workington

Durham SUNDERLAND, Durham, Darlington, Barnardcastle

Westmoreland . . KENDAL, Appleby, Kirkby-Lonsdale, Burton

Lancashire MANCHESTER, LIVERPOOL, Lancaster, Preston, Bolton, Blackburn, Wigan, Warrington

Yorkshire . . . LEEDS, SHEFFIELD, York, Hull or Kingston-upon-Hull, Whitby, Bradford, Huddersfield, Halifax, Doncaster, Scarborough, Harrowgate

FOUR NEXT WALES.

Cheshire STOCKPORT, Chester, Macclesfield Shropshire SHREWSBURY, Wellington, Ellesmere

Herefordshire . . HEREFORD, Leominster

Monmouthshire . Monmouth, Abergavenny, Chepstow

TWELVE MIDLAND.

Nottinghamshire . Nottingham, Newark-on-Trent, Mansfield

Derbyshire DERBY, Chesterfield

Staffordshire . . . WOLVERHAMPTON, Stafford, Newcas-

tle-under-Lyne, Litchfield, Burtonon-Trent

to Portland Bill, the most southern point of Dorsctshire, is about 360 miles; and the breadth from the east of Suffolk to the west of South Wales, is above 200 miles. It is separated from Scotland by the river Liddal, the Cheviot Hills, and the Tweed

^{*2.} In this article and in that on Ireland, the assize towns are in Italies, and the largest towns in capitals. In some counties of England, assizes are held in one town at one season, and in another at another season; and in some, they are held in different towns at the same time. In a first course of Geography, the teacher may surhaps consider it sufficient, for the pupil to point out on his map, in this and other sections, one or two of the towns given in each division.