Report of the Canadian Delegates to the Eleventh Assembly of the League of Nations

To HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR GENERAL IN COUNCIL:

The Eleventh Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the League of Nations was held in Geneva from September 10 to October 4, 1930.

ORGANIZATION

Fifty-two of the fifty-four States Members of the League were represented. The Argentine Republic and Honduras did not send delegations.

There were present six Prime Ministers, six former Prime Ministers or Heads of States, eighteen Ministers of Foreign Affairs, ten former Ministers of Foreign Affairs, and twenty-three delegates with a rank corresponding to that of Cabinet Minister.

The Canadian delegation consisted of the Right Honourable Sir Robert Laird Borden, former Prime Minister, the Honourable Thomas Chapais, Senator, Member of the Legislative Council of Quebec, and the Honourable Irene Parlby, Minister without Portfolio, of Alberta, with the following as alternate delegates: the Honourable Philippe Roy, Minister for Canada in France, Dr. W. A. Riddell, Dominion of Canada Advisory Officer accredited to the League of Nations, and Lieutenant-Colonel George P. Vanier, Canadian Representative on the Permanent Advisory Commission for Military, Naval and Air Questions.

The election of the President of the Assembly, the six Vice-Presidents, and the Chairman of the six Committees, who together constitute the General Committee of the Assembly, resulted as follows:—

President

M. TITULESCO (Roumania)

Vice-Presidents

Mr. Henderson (British Empire).	Dr. Curtius (Germany).
M. Matsudaira (Japan).	M. Quinones de Leon (Spain).
M. Briand (France).	M. Costa du Rels (Bolivia).

Chairman of the Committees

First Committee (Legal and Constitutional Questions): M. Scialoja (Italy).

Second Committee (Technical Organizations): M. Colijn (Netherlands).

Third Committee (Reduction of Armaments): M. Politis (Greece).

Fourth Committee (Budget and Financial Questions): Count Carton de Wiart (Belgium).

Fifth Committee (Social and Humanitarian Questions): Count Apponyi (Hungary).

Sixth Committee (Political Questions): Sir Robert Borden (Canada).

23460-2