tonight without first having obtained from parliament a direction that he may speak on this very important subject to the general constituency of Canada. He has not taken the opportunity to avail himself of the opinions of members of this Chamber, and therefore he will be speaking tonight solely as the leader of the Liberal party. As a protest I move, seconded by the hon, member for Broadview (Mr. Gilbert):

That the House do now adjourn.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. I am sure all hon. members are aware of the rule that a motion to adjourn the House is always in order. It has been moved by the hon. member for Timiskaming (Mr. Peters), and seconded by the hon. member for Broadview (Mr. Gilbert), that this House do now adjourn. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nav.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Peters) which was negatived on the following division:

• (1530)

Alexander

(Division No. 10)

YEAS

Messrs

Andre (Calgary Centre) Baker (Grenville-Carleton) Balfour Bawden Beatty Benjamin Blackburn Cadieu Caouette (Villeneuve) Crouse Darling Dick Diefenbaker Dinsdale Dionne (Kamouraska) Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands)

Fillie Elzinga Fairweather Firth Forrestall Fraser Friesen Gauthier (Roberval) Gilbert Grafftey Hamilton (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) Hnatyshyn Holmes Horner Huntington Hurlburt Johnston Kempling

Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Korchinski Lambert (Bellechasse) Lambert (Edmonton West) La Salle Lawrence Leggatt MacDonald (Egmont) MacKay Macquarrie Marshall Masniuk Matte Mazankowski McCleave. McGrath McKenzie McKinley

Motion to Adjourn

Messrs.

Mitges Peters
Murta Pigott (Mrs.)
Neil Rodriguez
Nystrom Rynard
Oberle Schumacher
Orlikow Scott
Patterson Skorevko

Smith (Churchill) Stevens Stewart (Marquette) Symes Towers—75.

Lumley

NAYS

Messrs

Allmand Andras (Port Arthur) Andres (Lincoln) Appolloni (Mrs.) Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Basford Béchard Blais Blouin Boulanger Ruchanan Bussières Caccia Cafik Campagnolo (Mrs.)
Campbell (Miss)
(South Western Nova) Campbell (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Saint-Paul) Caron Clermont Collenette Corbin Corriveau Côté Cullen Danson Daudlin Demers (Northumberland-Miramichi)

Douglas (Bruce-Grev) Drury Duclos Dupont Dupras Duquet Faulkner Fleming Foster Fox Francis Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) Gendron Gillespie Goodale Gover Gray Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Haidasz Herbert Isabelle Jamieson Kaplan Lajoie Lalonde Lang Langlois Laniel Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre Loiselle

(Saint-Henri)

MacDonald (Cardigan) MacFarlane Maine Marceau Marchand Martin McRae Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Olivier Quellet Parent Pelletier Penner Philbrook Pinard Poulin Prud'homme Railton Raines Roberts Rooney Roy (Laval) Smith (Saint-Jean) Stewart (Cochrane) Stollery Tessier Trudel Turner Yanakis Young-104.

• (1620)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.

QUESTIONS ON THE ORDER PAPER

[English]

(Questions answered orally are indicated by an asterisk.)

Mr. Ralph E. Goodale (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): Mr. Speaker, the following questions will be answered today: 169, 172, 421 to 432 inclusive, 434, 435, 656, 707, 758, 783, 901, 945 and 977.