67, 58 and 25 Conservative members of Parliament, respectively.

The Cabinet has 17 ministers who have had previous federal ministerial experience. Sixteen are from former Prime Minister Joe Clark's Cabinet including Joe Clark, who is the new secretary of state for external affairs. In addition, veteran George Hees, the new minister of veteran's affairs, served in John Diefenbaker's Cabinet. The other 23 ministers, including Mr. Mulroney are new to the Cabinet.

## More women ministers

The Cabinet also has the largest contingent of women in Canadian history. There are now six women ministers including veteran Flora MacDonald, the minister of employment and immigration.

For the signing-in ceremony, all the new ministers met in the centre block of the Parliament buildings, from where they drove in order of precedence to the governorgeneral's residence, Rideau Hall. George Hees was the first to arrive and new-comer Monique Vézina, the new minister of external relations, was the last.

After gathering in the drawing room, Mr. Mulroney led his new ministers into the ornate white and gold-trimmed ballroom in Government House, at the start of a nationally-televised ceremony. The arrival of Governor General Jeanne Sauvé and Mr. Sauvé was saluted by the trumpeters of the Canadian Forces Band.

## **External relations ministers**

Three ministers are responsible for Canada's relations with the rest of the world. Joe Clark, as secretary of state for external affairs, is the senior member of the triumvirate, with James Kelleher as international trade minister and Monique Vézina as external relations minister.



Joe Clark

Charles Joseph Clark was born in High River, Alberta on June 5, 1939. He has a B.A. in history and an M.A. in political science from the University of Alberta as well as an Honorary Doctor of Laws from the University of New Brunswick. In 1983,

he was made a member of the Alberta Order of Excellence. Mr. Clark and his wife Maureen McTeer, have one daughter.

First elected to the House of Commons in the general election of 1972, Mr. Clark was elected leader of the Progressive Conservative Party on February 22, 1976.

He was sworn in as prime minister on June 4, 1979, following the May 22 general election. His government was defeated in the election on February 18, 1980. Mr. Clark was succeeded as party leader by Brian Mulroney on June 11, 1983.



James Kelleher

James Francis
Kelleher, born on October 2, 1930 in Sault
Ste. Marie, Ontario,
is a graduate of
Queen's University
and Osgoode Law
School. Actively involved in many community affairs, a few of
his positions include:
director. Ontario Hous-

ing Corporation; president, Plummer Memorial Public Hospital in Sault Ste. Marie; member, Sault Ste. Marie International

Bridge Authority; director, Great Lakes Power Limited; and former chairman of the United Way Campaign. He and his wife Marie have two daughters.



Monique Vézina

Monique Vézina was born in Rimouski, Quebec in July 1935. She has been chairperson and a member of the board of directors of the Fédération des caisses populaires Desjardins du Bas Saint-Laurent for a number of years as well as secretary and

a member of the board of directors of the Confédération des caisses populaires Desjardins du Québec. In addition, she is chairperson of the Gérardin-Vaillancourt Foundation and a member of the board

## The new Cabinet

Martin Brian Mulroney, Prime Minister George Hees, Minister of Veterans Affairs

**Duff Roblin,** Leader of the Government in the Senate

Joe Clark, Secretary of State for External Affairs

Flora MacDonald, Minister of Employment and Immigration

Erik Nielsen, Deputy Prime Minister and President of the Privy Council

John Crosbie, Minister of Justice and Attorney General

Roch LaSalle, Minister of Public Works

Don Mazankowski, Minister of

Transport

Elmer MacKay, Solicitor General Jacob Epp, Minister of National Health and Welfare

**John Fraser,** Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

**Sinclair Stevens, Minister of Regional** Industrial Expansion

John Wise, Minister of Agriculture Ramon Hnatyshyn, Minister of State (Government House Leader)

**David Crombie, Minister of Indian and Northern Development** 

Robert de Cotret, President of the Treasury Board

**Perrin Beatty, Minister of National**Revenue

Michael Wilson, Minister of Finance Robert Coates, Minister of National Defence

Jack Murta, Minister of State (Multiculturalism)

Harvie Andre, Minister of Supply and Services

Otto Jelinek, Minister of State (Fitness and Amateur Sport)

Thomas Siddon, Minister of State for Science and Technology

Charles Mayer, Minister of State (Canadian Wheat Board)

William McKnight, Minister of Labour Walter F. McLean, Secretary of State

Thomas McMillan, Minister of State (Tourism)

Patricia Carney, Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources

André Bissonnette, Minister of State (Small Business)

Suzanne Blais-Grenier, Minister of the Environment

Benoit Bouchard, Minister of State (Transport)

Andrée Champagne, Minister of State (Youth)

Michel Côté, Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs

James Kelleher, Minister for International Trade

Robert Layton, Minister of State (Mines)

Marcel Masse, Minister of Communications

Barbara Jean McDougall, Minister of State (Finance)

Gerald Merrithew, Minister of State (Forestry)

Monique Vézina, Minister for External Relations