Time Allocation

Campbell (Cardigan) Chénier Collenette Comtois Corriveau Cosgrove Côté (Mrs.) Cousineau Cullen Cvr Daudlin Dawson De Bané Demers Deniger Desmarais Dingwall Dion Dionn (Chicoutimi) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Dubois Duclos Dupont Dupras Duquet Erola (Mrs.) Ethier Evans Ferguson Fisher Fleming Flis Foster Fox Frith

Garant Gauthier Gendron Gimaïel Gingras Gourd (Argenteuil-Papineau) Gourde (Lévis) Gray Guilbault Harquail Herbert Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.) Hopkins Hudecki Irwin Isabelle Johnston Joval Kaplan Kelly Killens (Mrs.) Lachance Lajoie Landers Lang Lapierre Lapointe (Beauce) LeBlanc Leduc Lefebvre Lumley MacBain

Malépart Maltais Marceau Massé Masters McCauley McRae Nicholson (Miss) Olivier Parent Penner Pepin Peterson Pinard Portelance Prud'homme Regan Roberts Robinson (Etobicoke-Lakeshore) Rompkey Rooney Rossi Roy Savard Schroder Tardif Tobin Tousignant Trudeau Turner Veillette Weatherhead Whelan Vanakis-123

NAYS

Messrs.

Althouse Beatty Benjamin Blackburn Blaikie Blenkarn Bosley Broadbent Cardiff Clark (Brandon-Souris) Clarke (Vancouver Quadra) Coates Cook Cooper Crosbie (St. John's West) Crosby (Halifax West) Crouse Dantzer Deans de Jong Domm Ellis Elzinga Epp Fennell Forrestall Fraser Fretz Friesen

Fulton Gamble Gass Greenaway Gurbin Gustafson Hargrave Hawkes Heap Hnatyshyn Hovdebo Howie Jelinek Jewett (Ms.) Kempling King Knowles Lambert La Salle Lawrence Lewis Lewycky MacDougall Manly Mazankowski McCuish McDermid McDonald (Ms.) (Broadview-Greenwood) McGrath McKenzie McKinnon

McMillan Miller Mitges Munro (Esquimalt-Saanich) Neil Nickerson Nielsen Ogle Orlikow Patterson Reid (St. Catharines) Riis Robinson (Burnaby) Roche Sargeant Schellenberger Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth) Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Shields Speyer Stewart Taylor Thacker Towers Vankoughnet Waddell Wenman Wilson Wise—91

McKnight

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

OFFICIAL LANGUAGES, POLICY AND PROGRAMS

COMPOSITION OF STANDING JOINT COMMITTEE

Mr. John Evans (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): Mr. Speaker, I have a motion that refers to the composition of the Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages, Policy and Programs. We have had discussions with the other Parties about this. I move:

That the quorum of the Standing Joint Committee of the Senate and of the House of Commons on Official Languages, Policy and Programs, be six Members, whenever a vote, resolution or other decision is taken, so long as both Houses, the Government and the Opposition are represented, and that the joint Chairmen be authorized to hold meetings, to receive evidence and authorize the printing thereof, when four Members are present so long as both Houses, the Government and the Opposition are represented; and

That a message be sent to the Senate requesting that the House do unite with this House for the above purpose.

Mr. Hnatyshyn: Mr. Speaker, there have been the consultations indicated. This motion is necessary in order to establish a quorum under the circumstances. I simply rise to indicate that we are prepared to consent to the motion being put and the passage thereof.

Mr. Speaker: Is there unanimous agreement for the Parliamentary Secretary to introduce this motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the wish of the House to adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed. Motion (Mr. Evans) agreed to.

* * *

QUESTIONS ON THE ORDER PAPER

(Questions answered orally are indicated by an asterisk.)

Mr. John Evans (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): Mr. Speaker, the following questions will be answered today: Nos. 165, 166, 168, 566 and 790.

[Text]

ECC-NINETEENTH ANNUAL REVIEW

Question No. 165-Mr. Mazankowski:

Were 14 recommendations made to the Government in the Economic Council of Canada's 19th Annual Review *Lean Times* and, if so (a) which recommendations were accepted by the Government and what has been done to implement them (b) which recommendations were rejected and for what reasons (c) what is the status of the remaining recommendations?

Mr. John Evans (Parliamentary Secretary to President of the Privy Council): No. Of the Council's 14 recommendations, three were not addressed to the Government.

(a), (b) and (c) Recommendations of the Economic Council represent important inputs to the Government's long-term policy considerations. However, the Council is one among a