been established for the region of North America or for Africa. Canada is not a member of any of the three regional economic commissions, but participates in many of their meetings in a consultative capacity.

The membership of the Economic Commission for Europe consists of 28 European countries (counting the U.S.S.R., Ukraine and Byelorussia as a single member), Turkey and the United States. Although the countries of Western Europe have depended largely on the Organization for European Economic Co-operation (OEEC) as an instrument for economic co-operation, the ECE has been of some significance in stimulating trade and other forms of economic co-operation between Eastern and Western European countries. Meetings of the numerous committees of ECE (on coal, timber, inland transport, and so on) provide opportunities for discussions of particular subjects of concern, and the annual sessions of the Commission deal with more general aspects of economic co-operation. The eleventh annual session of ECE was held in Geneva in April 1956, and Canada was represented in a consultative capacity. The secretariat of ECE is headed by Mr. Gunnar Myrdal of Sweden¹.

The Economic Commission for Latin America has 24 members including 20 Latin-American countries, the United States, France, the United Kingdom and the Netherlands. It held its sixth session in September 1956 at Bogota, Colombia, to which Spain, Italy, Czechoslovakia, Poland and Sweden sent observers. During the session it was decided to establish a trade committee composed of member countries for the purpose of intensifying inter-American trade and assisting trade negotiations. The first meeting of the trade committee was held in Santiago, Chile, in November 1956. Canada was not represented at the sixth session of ECLA but a Canadian observer attended the meeting of the trade committee in Santiago. The executive secretary of ECLA is Mr. Raul Prebisch of Argentina.

The Economic Commission for Asia and the Far East has 23 members, including a number of countries outside the area, and three associate members (dependent territories of the United Kingdom). The former executive secretary, Dr. Lokonathan of India, was succeeded during 1956 by Mr. C. V. Narasimhan, also of India. The twelfth session of ECAFE was held in Bangalore, India, in February 1956. A Canadian representative attended this meeting in a consultative capacity, and Canada was also represented at a session of the ECAFE sub-committee on trade which met in Tokyo from October 29 - November 9, 1956.

Extra-Budgetary Programmes

Introduction

The United Nations and its Specialized Agencies have undertaken for many years special programmes of assistance to overcome certain acute problems and serious deficiencies which exist in various areas. Since money for these special programmes is not available through the regular United Nations budget or through the regular budgets of the Specialized Agencies, it has to be raised as "extra-budgetary funds" from voluntary contributions

⁴Mr. Myrdal announced his resignation in April 1957, and Mr. Sakari Severi Tuomioja, of Finland, has been named his successor.