The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Mitchell Sharp, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the XXVIIIth Session of the United Nations General Assembly, which opens in New York on September 18. Mr. Sharp will be Chairman of the Delegation. The other members will be:

Dr. Saul F. Rae

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the United Nations

Mr. Pierre De Bané

Parliamentary Secretary to the Secretary of State for

External Affairs

Sonator Henry D. Hicks

Mrs. Jean-Charles Bonenfant

Mrs. Monique Bégin

Member of Parliament

Mr. W. H. Barton

Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Canada to the Office of the United Nations at Geneva and to the Conference of the Committee on Disarmament

Mr. Bruce Rankin

Ambassador, Consul-General of Canada in New York

Mr. A. J. Matheson

Counsellor at the Permanent Mission of Canada to the United Nations in New York

Mr. E. G. Lee

Legal Advisor, Department of External Affairs

idvisors will be provided by the Department of External Affairs and by other government departments as appropriate.