towards responsible government in the provinces, made these colleges targets of religious and political criticism and led to two of them becoming provincial universities (the University of Toronto — 1850; the University of New Brunswick — 1859). The third, University of King's College at Halifax, is today an Anglican, co-educational institution associated with Dalhousie University, Halifax.

Many denominational colleges were also founded in Ontario and the Atlantic provinces to fulfil the desire of various religious groups to educate their young people in the atmosphere of their own faiths. These included such institutions as Acadia University at Wolfville, N.S. (Baptist — founded in 1838; denominational tests have never been permitted); Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario (Presbyterian when founded in 1841, but now non-denominational); Victoria College (founded in Cobourg, Ontario, by Methodists in 1836, and now located in Toronto under United Church direction); St. Francis Xavier University Antigonish, N.S. (Catholic — founded in 1853); and Mount Allison University Sackville, N.B. (Methodist, now United Church — founded in 1843). After the establishment of the University of Toronto, the Church of England founded its own University of Trinity College in 1852. Trinity is today federated with the University of Toronto.

The first non-denominational institution to be established in Canada was McGill University, Montreal (1821), which first gave instruction in 1829. Dalhousie University, Halifax, dates from 1818. However, except for a few years between 1838 and 1845, Dalhousie did not function as a university until 1863.

The University of Manitoba was established in 1877 as a degree-granting institution for three existing denominational colleges. It first granted earned degrees in 1880, and began to offer instruction in 1890. Except for a short period during which the Manitoba Agricultural College was independent, and except for institutions granting degrees in theology only, the University of Manitoba was the sole degree-granting institution in the province until 1967. In that year, two affiliates of the University of Manitoba — Brandon College and United College — were granted university status as Brandon University and the University of Winnipeg.

In 1903, the legislature of the Northwest Territories (then composed of most of western Canada east of British Columbia) passed an act for the establishment of a university. In 1905, part of the N.W.T. below the 60th parallel was divided into the present provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan and the 1903 act was succeeded by acts in 1906 and 1907 authorizing the establishment of the University of Alberta (Edmonton) and the University of Saskatchewan (Saskatoon). Both universities established