The delegation from Newfoundland arrived in Ottawa on October 6, 1948. It consisted of Mr. A.J. Walsh, K.C., Chairman; Mr. F.G. Bradley, K.C.; Mr. Chesley A. Crosbie; Mr. Phillip Gruchy, C.B.E.; Mr. J.B. McEvoy, K.C.; Mr. J.R. Smallwood; and Mr. Gordon A. Winter. Of these Mr. Bradley and Mr. Smallwood had been members with the Delegation sent from the National Convention in 1947.

Negotiations were begun with a Committee of the Cabinet consisting of the following: the acting Prime Minister, Mr. St. Laurent; the Minister of Trade and Commerce, Mr. Howe; the Minister of National Defence, Mr. Claxton; the Minister of Finance, Mr. Abbott; the Minister of National Revenue, Dr. McCann; the Minister of Veterans' Affairs, Mr. Gregg; the Minister of Fisheries, Mr. Mayhew; and the Secretary of State for External Affairs, Mr. Pearson.

Throughout the negotiations the most difficult aspects of the problem were financial. Newfoundland could not be expected to enter Confederation unless there were reasonable assurances that it could carry on financially as a province. On the other hand it was desirable that financial arrangements for Newfoundland should fit, as nearly as possible, into the prevailing system of financial relations between the Federal Government and the provinces.

The Terms of Union (1) were signed in the Senate Chamber, Ottawa, on December 11, 1948. Those signing on behalf of Canada were the Prime Minister, Mr. St. Laurent and the Acting Secretary of State for External Affairs, Mr. Claxton. All members of the Newfoundland delegation listed above signed the Terms of Union, with the exception of Mr. Crosbie who had announced that he felt the financial arrangements were unsatisfactory.

Term 50 of the Terms of Union provided that, subject to their being approved by the Parliament of Canada and the Government of Newfoundland, they should come into force at midnight on March 31, 1949, "if His Majesty has theretofore given His Assent to an Act of the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland confirming the same."

Accordingly, a Bill was laid before the Parliament of Canada on February 7. Having passed through the House of Commons and the Senate, the Bill received the Assent of the Governor-General on February 18, and Parliament proceeded next to send an Address to the King dated February 22 praying that a Bill be laid before the Parliament at Westminster in order to confirm the Terms of Union. The Address was transmitted to the King by the Governor-General and on February 22 a Bill to confirm and give effect to the Terms of Union was read in the British House of Commons.

This Bill also provided for the repeal of the Newfoundland Act of 1933 (save one section containing a financial guarantee) which had been the legal basis of the Commission of Government since the suspension of Responsible Government in 1934 at the request of Newfoundland. Meanwhile, on February 21, the Commission of Government announced that it had examined the Terms of Union and the accompanying memorandum from the Prime Minister of Canada, and that it approved the Terms.

The Bill before the Parliament at Westminister finally received the Royal Assent on March 23 as the British North America Act, 1949. The requirements of Term 50 having therefore been fulfilled, Newfoundland joined with Canada as the tenth province on March 31, 1949. The historic union was marked by ceremonies both in St. John's and Ottawa on April 1. The new province will be represented by seven members out of a total of 262, in the Canadian House of Commons; and by six senators out of a total of 102, in the Canadian Senate.

⁽¹⁾ The Terms of Union are contained in the Department's Conference Series

1948, No. 2, Reports and Documents Relating to Negotiations for the Union
of Newfoundland and Canada, King's Printer and Controller of Stationery,
25%.