CONVENTION ON THE NATIONALITY OF WOMEN

The Governments represented in the Seventh International Conference of American States:

Wishing to conclude a Convention on the Nationality of Women, have appointed the following Plenipotentiaries:

[List of Plenipotentiaries of: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela]

Who, after having exhibited their Full Powers, which were found in good and due form, have agreed upon the following:

Article 1

There shall be no distinction based on sex as regards nationality, in their legislation or in their practice.

Article 2

The present convention shall be ratified by the High Contracting Parties in conformity with their respective constitutional procedures. The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Uruguay shall transmit authentic certified copies to the governments for the aforementioned purpose of ratification. The instrument of ratification shall be deposited in the archives of the Pan American Union in Washington, which shall notify the signatory governments of said deposit. Such notification shall be considered as an exchange of ratifications.

Article 3

The present convention will enter into force between the High Contracting Parties in the order in which they deposit their respective ratifications.

Article 4

The present convention shall remain in force indefinitely but may be denounced by means of one year's notice given to the Pan American Union, which shall transmit it to the other signatory governments. After the expiration of this period the convention shall cease in its effects as regards the party which denounces but shall remain in effect for the remaining High Contracting Parties.