resources too quickly, yet they need them now. Try to resolve those two problems. Hon. members asked about our Minister of Energy. He is great.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear!

Mrs. Holt: Our Minister of Transport (Mr. Lang) has already shown great strength in his portfolio.

Some hon. Members: Order!

Mrs. Holt: You started it. You started talking about leadership. I am giving you a roll call of leadership.

An hon. Member: What about the back bench?

Mrs. Holt: Oh, the back bench is splendid. But I am talking about the Minister of Transport. He is new on the job-

An hon. Member: What about the Whip?

Mrs. Holt: Oh, the Whip is fantastic. Look at all the people he has brought out. Where are your boys?

The Minister of Transport has already shown great strength and courage in his portfolio. His intelligence and vigour will assure solutions to difficulties involving the dredging prices and the chronic problems of our railway system, and maybe we will get equalization of freight rates in the west through him because he is a westerner.

One last quotation. Everybody has used a quotation from somebody else-

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Order!

Mrs. Holt: I just wish to put one quotation on record-

The question, "Who ought to be boss?" is like asking "Who ought to be the tenor in the quartet?" Obviously, the man who can sing tenor.

Some hon. Members: Order! Order!

[Translation]

Mr. Deputy Speaker: I regret to interrupt the hon. member, but it being 9.45 p.m. it is my duty, pursuant to section 10 of Standing Order 58, to interrupt the proceedings and put forthwith all questions necessary to dispose of the proceedings on the motion and of the supplementary estimates (A) and for the passage through all stages of any

The question is on the amendment in the name of the hon. member for Richmond (Mr. Beaudoin).

All those in favour of the amendment will please say vea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed will please say

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it. And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

Canadian Economy

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Beaudoin) which was negatived on the following division:

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Beaudoin) which was negatived on the following division:

(2150)

(Division No. 86)

Messrs

Gilbert Malone Alexander Alkenbrack Grafftey Matte McCain Allard Halliday McKenzie Hamilton Andre (Qu'Appelle-Moose Mountain) (Calgary Centre) McKinley McKinnon Baker (Grenville-Carleton) Hamilton (Swift Current-Mitges Muir Bawden Maple-Creek) Neil Beaudoin Hargrave Nowlan Benjamin Blackburn Hees Nystrom Horner Oberle Brisco Cadieu Huntington Orlikow Hurlburt O'Sullivan Clark Paproski (Rocky Mountain) Jelinek Clarke Jones Peters Kempling Ritchie (Vancouver Quadra) Knowles Rodriguez Coates (Winnipeg North Centre) Rondeau Crouse Rynard Darling Knowles Saltsman Dick (Norfolk-Haldimand) Schellenberger Dionne (Kamouraska) Korchinski Scott Stanfield Ellis Lambert (Bellechasse) Elzinga Lambert (Edmonton West) (Marquette) Epp Symes Fairweather Towers Forrestall Lawrence MacDonald Wenman (Egmont) Whittaker Friesen MacKay Wise Gauthier Yewchuk—79 (Roberval) MacLean

NAYS Messrs

Dupont

Dupras

Duquet

Lapointe

(Westmorland-Kent)

Abbott Allmand Andres (Lincoln) Appolloni (Mrs.) Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Réchard Bégin (Miss) Blais Blaker Blouin Boulanger Breau Bussières Caccia Cafik Campagnolo (Mrs.) Campbell (Miss) (South Western Nova) Chrétien Clermont Collenette Comtois Condon Corbin Corriveau Cullen Cyr Daudlin De Bané Demers Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Douglas (Bruce-Grey)

Faulkner Fleming Flynn Foster Fox Francis Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) Gendron Gillespie Goodale Gray Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Haidasz Harquail Herbert Holt (Mrs.) Hopkins Isabelle Joyal Kaplan Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Landers Lang Langlois Roberts Rompkey Laniel Rooney Roy (Laval)

Loiselle (Saint-Henri) Lumley MacDonald (Cardigan) Macdonald (Rosedale) MacFarlane Mackasey Marceau Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Martin McIsaac McRae Milne Nicholson (Miss) O'Connell Olivier Ouellet Parent Pearsall Penner Portelance Poulin Prud'homme Railton Raines

Sharp

Lefebvre

(Chambly)

Lessard Loiselle