Mr. James A. McGrath (St. John's East): Mr. Speaker, in view of the persistence of the government in not upholding the law and carrying out the provisions of the Temporary Wheat Reserves Act, I consider it inappropriate that this House should consider any further business and I therefore move, seconded by the hon. member for Peace River (Mr. Baldwin):

That under the provisions of Standing Order 25 this House do now adjourn.

Mr. Speaker: Perhaps I should point out that the hon. member did not have the floor for the purpose of proposing a motion, but that might be cutting things a bit fine. If I were to interpret the parliamentary rules very strictly, I would say it is not customary for a member, on a point of order, to move a dilatory motion, which is what is being done now. But this would not help very much because I am sure that within the next five minutes a motion would be placed before the House by a member who had the floor, not on a point of order, and so I see no purpose in not putting the motion at this time.

Mr. Jerome: On a point of order, Mr. Speaker, it may be that Your Honour is anticipating what will happen when we do move to motions, but nevertheless there could be announcements made at that time. I know the Minister of Agriculture (Mr. Olson) proposes to make an announcement on motions concerning the business of the House for the rest of this week, and that might very well have an influence on your decision.

Mr. Speaker: I do not think that I can take this kind of suggestion into consideration. I cannot foretell that perhaps on motions later today, or at five o'clock this afternoon, or at the time of adjournment this evening, some announcement might be made which could cast a different light on the situation. I have to rule that the motion has been made by the hon. member for St. John's East (Mr. McGrath) and I see no reason why it should not be put now.

Mr. Jerome: With the greatest respect, Your Honour, you said that we were not now on motions and that this motion is contrary to the rules.

Mr. Speaker: That is not what I said. The Standing Order provides that the motion can be made at any time, and it is not necessary that it be made on motions. It is moved by the hon. member for St. John's East (Mr. McGrath), seconded by the hon. member for Peace River (Mr. Baldwin), that this House do now adjourn. Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion? All those in favour will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. McGrath) which was negatived on the following division:

24319-321

Division

YEAS

Messrs:

Aiken Alexander Asselin Baldwin Barnett Benjamin Blackburn Broadbent Burton Cadieu Carter Crouse Danforth Dinsdale Douglas Downey Fairweather Gleave Grills Gundlock Hales Harding Harkness Howard (Skeena) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinskl Lambert (Edmonton West) Lewis Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond)

Allmand Anderson Andras Badanai Barrett Béchard Beer Blouin Borrie Boulanger Buchanan Caccia Cafik Caouette Chappell Chrétien Clermont Cobbe Corriveau Côté (Richelieu) Côté (Longueuil) Cullen Cyr Danson Davis Deachman Deakon Dionne Drury Dubé Dupras Duquet Émard

MacInnis (Mrs.) MacKay MacLean Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McGrath McIntosh McKinley McQuaid Marshall Mather Mazankowski Monteith Nesbitt Orlikow Peddle Peters Ricard Ritchie Rose Rowland Rynard Saltsman Scott Skoberg Southam Stanfield Stewart (Marquette) Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Valade Woolliams-65.

NAYS

Messrs:

Éthier Forget Foster Francis Gauthier Gendron Gervais Gillespie Godin Goyer Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Haidasz Hogarth Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Kierang Lachance Laing (Vancouver South) Lajoie Lambert (Bellechasse) Langlois Laniel La Salle