Dinision.

tells me that it is 9:45 and that I must sit down. That is the rule, and I accept it. I do not believe the 40 minute limit on individual speeches is closure. I do not believe the eight day rule on the debate on the address is closure. If we have the intelligence to agree on the times to be allotted for various debates, that will not be closure. Rather, it will be the sensible planning of the parliamentary year so that we can carry out the business of this nation as grown men and women. I hope this is what we will soon do in this House of Commons.

McWilliam Marchand Mather Matherson Methat I must sit McWilliam Morison Nather Matheson Morison Neveu Nixon O'Keefe Olson Orange Orlikow Otto Patterson Pelletier

Mr. Speaker: Pursuant to section 6 of standing order 15A it is my duty to interrupt proceedings at this time and forthwith put every question necessary to dispose of the main motion.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. McIlraith) which was agreed to on the following division:

• (9:50 p.m.)

Gauthier

Gendron

[Mr. Knowles.]

Gilbert

YEAS

Messrs:

Allmand Godin Andras Gordon Gover Asselin (Richmond-Wolfe) Gray Guay Badanai Barnett Habel Haidasz Basford Batten Harley Béchard Hellyer Herridge Berger Honey Blouin Boulanger Hopkins Brewin Hymmen Byrne Cadieux (Terrebonne) Jamieson Cameron (High Park)
Cameron (Nanaimo-Johnston Klein Knowles Cowichan-The Islands) Lachance Cantin Cashin Laflamme Laing Chatwood LaMarsh (Miss) Choquette Clermont Langlois (Chicoutimi) Côté (Dorchester) Laniel Côté (Longueuil) Côté (Nicolet-Yamaska) Laprise Latulippe Cowan LeBlanc (Rimouski) Crossman Leboe Davis Lefebvre Deachman Legault Dionne Lessard Douglas Lewis Emard Lind Ethier Loiselle Faulkner Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen Fawcett MacInnis (Mrs.) Forest Foy (Vancouver-Kingsway)

Mackasey

McIlraith

McNulty

Marchand Matheson Matte Mongrain Morison Nevell Nixon O'Keefe Olson Orlikow Patterson Pelletier Pickersgill Pilon Prittie Prud'homme Reid Rideout (Mrs.) Rochon Rock

Roxburgh Saltsman Schreyer Simard Stafford Stanbury Stewart Tardif Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Thompson Tolmie Tremblay Trudeau Tucker Turner Wahn Walker

Watson (Châteauguay-Huntingdon-Laprairie) Whelan Winch

Winch Yanakis—124.

NAYS

Messrs:

Aiken McKinley Alkenbrack McLelland Allard McQuaid Ballard Madill Bell (Saint John-Albert) Monteith Moore Muir (Cape Breton Bower North and Victoria) Brand Cantelon Muir (Lisgar) Chatterton Nasserden Churchill Nesbitt Coates Noble Code Nowlan Crouse Nugent Danforth Ormiston Diefenbaker Pascoe Dinsdale Pugh Forbes Rapp Forrestall Régimbal Harkness Ricard Horner (Acadia) Rynard Howe (Wellington-Huron) Scott (Victoria (Ont.)) Jorgenson Sherman

MacDonald (Prince) Stefanson
MacInnis Stefanson
(Cape Breton South) Thomas (Middlesex West)

MacLean (Queens) Valade
MacRae Wadds (Mrs.)
McCleave Watson (Assiniboia)
McCutcheon Webb
McIntosh Winkler—62.

• (10:10 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Bell (Carleton): Mr. Speaker, I was paired with the Minister of Agriculture (Mr. Greene); otherwise I would have voted against the motion.

Mr. Nicholson: Mr. Speaker, I was paired. Had I voted I would have voted in favour of the motion.