John's, and all other Islands within six leagues of the Coast, to the southward by the Atlantic Ocean, from the said Cape to Cape-Sable, including the Island of that name, and all other Islands within 40 leagues of the Coast, with all the rights, members and appurtenances, whatsoever, thereto belonging. And to the westward, although our said Province hath anciently extended, and doth of right extend, as far as the river Pentagoet or Penobscot, it shall be bounded by a line drawn from Cape-Sable across the entrance of the Bay of Fundy, to the mouth of the river St. Croix; by the said river to its source, and by a line drawn due north, from thence to the southern boundary of our Colony of Quebec." At subsequent periods, this territory was divided into four separate Provinces, viz. Nova-Scotia, New-Brunswick, Prince Edward's Island and Cape Breton. But in 1820, this latter Island was again annexed to the Government of Nova-Scotia, and now forms a County in the civil divisions of the Province. Nova-Scotia proper, or that portion of the Continent known under that name, is connected with the body of North America by a narrow isthmus, and is bounded on the North by the Strait of Northumberland, which separates it from Prince Edward's Island; on the north east by the Gut of Canseau, which divides it from Cape-Breton, on the south and south east by the Atlantic ocean, and on the west by the Bay of Fundy and New-Brunswick. It lies within the 43d and 46th degree of North Latitude, and between the 61st and 67th degree of Longitude, west from the Greenwich meridian, and is about 300 miles in length, but of unequal width, embracing a superficies of 15,617 square