Northern Canada Power Commission Act

for a few more days. I invited the hon. member and his colleagues to follow the situation very closely, stating that if such a situation would persist I would reconsider that serious matter.

[English]

A week having passed, and not only the hon. member for Bellechasse (Mr. Lambert) having raised the subject again but this week is supported by a similar notice of motion proposed by the hon. member for Joliette (Mr. La Salle), the subject is obviously still current. The situation has not improved in the ensuing week. A week ago I took the precaution of holding it over for a week for further study to see if perhaps during the intervening days the situation, which was changing rapidly, might be better. It obviously has not greatly improved, and I think it is important to note that it is not for the Chair to try to make a decision on the details.

There were further questions today, there have been questions every day, and there have been suggestions that perhaps some things might develop which might improve the situation, but surely it is not for the Chair to interpose itself to try to make a decision on the details. The Chair must accept the fact that a week ago the subject was raised by the hon. member for Bellechasse. I asked the House to wait a few days to see the situation would alter for the better. We waited a week, and it is now raised again.

As suggested by the hon. member for Bellechasse, as well as by the other hon. member, I cannot see how the Chair can ignore the fact that the situation continues to be grave. Therefore, it seems to qualify eminently as a very serious situation deserving the special attention of the House pursuant to Standing Order 26 and, if it meets with the approval of the House, I propose to set the debate for eight o'clock this evening.

GOVERNMENT ORDERS

[English]

NORTHERN CANADA POWER COMMISSION

AMENDMENTS TO CONSTITUTION AND POWERS OF COMMISSION

Hon. Judd Buchanan (Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development) moved that Bill C-13, to amend the Northern Canada Power Commission Act, be read the third time and do pass.

Mr. Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Nielsen: Mr. Speaker, would you please be so kind as to call for the yeas and nays?

Mr. Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

[Mr. Speaker.]

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five hon. members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: I caution hon. members that in the last 24 hours we have experienced some difficulty with the operation of the bells, and we will have to ensure that, during the course of the summoning of hon. members for this vote, the bells are in fact functioning in the West Block. They were repaired and are evidently functioning in the Centre Block and in the Confederation Building. If there is some difficulty in the West Block we may have to take steps to make sure hon. members are summoned.

In any case, call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Buchanan) which was agreed to on the following division:

• (1510)

(Division No. 31)

YEAS

Messrs.

Abbott Allard Allmand Anderson Andras (Port Arthur) Andres (Lincoln) Appolloni (Mrs.) Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Beaudoin Béchard Bégin (Miss) Benjamin Blais Blaker Blouin Boulanger Breau Buchanan Bussières Caccia Campagnolo (Mrs.) Campbell (Miss) (South Western Nova) Campbell (LaSalle-Émard-Côte Saint-Paul) Caouette (Villeneuve) Caron Chrétien Clermont Collenette Comtois Condon Corbin Corriveau Côté Cullen Danson Daudlin De Bané

Demers Dionne (Kamouraska) Dionne (Northumberland-Miramichi) Douglas (Bruce-Grey) Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Drury Duclos Dupont Dupras Duquet Ethier Faulkner Firth Flynn Fortin Fox Francis Gauthier (Ottawa-Vanier) Gendron Gilbert Gillespie Goodale Goyer Gray Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis) Guilbault Haidasz Herbert Hopkins Isabelle Jamieson Jones Joyal Kaplan

Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Lachance Lajoie Lalonde Landers Lang Laniel Lapointe Laprise Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Westmorland-Kent) Lee Lefebvre Leggatt Loiselle (Chambly) Lumley MacDonald (Cardigan) MacFarlane MacGuigan Mackasey Maine Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Matte McIsaac McRae Milne Morin (Mrs.) Munro (Hamilton East) Nicholson (Miss) Nystrom O'Connell Olivier Ouellet