PRESS RELEASE

CANADA

COMMUNIQUÉ

MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FRIDAY, MARCH 1, 1963.

B. 6

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Howard Green, announced today that Canada and eleven other member states of the United Nations have been appointed by the President of the General Assembly, Sir Zafrullah Khan, to serve on the Preparatory Committee for a Year of International Co-operation. The other members of the Committee are the Central African Republic, Ceylon, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Finland, India, Ireland, Paraguay, Peru, Thailand and the United Arab Republic.

On December 19, 1962, the General Assembly in Plenary session unanimously adopted a resolution on this subject which had been introduced by India and Canada and co-sponsored by eighteen other countries. It requested the President of the Assembly to nominate a Preparatory Committee of up to twelve member states to consider the desirability of designating 1965, the twentieth anniversary of the United Nations, as International Co-operation Year. The Committee just appointed will report to the eighteenth session of the General Assembly next autumn on measures and activities which might be undertaken by member states, the Specialized Agencies and non-governmental organizations to further the objectives sought in the proposal.

The main objective set out in the Assembly resolution is expressed in the belief that the nations of the world would be well served both by an increased awareness of the existing

. . . 2