(C.W.B. May 15, 1968)

TAX AID FOR LABRADOR POWER

A tax-remission order that will facilitate the financing of power development at Churchill Falls in Labrador was announced recently by Mr. E.J. Benson, Minister of Finance and President of the Treasury Board. He said that the action by the Government would also help prevent increases that would otherwise occur in the cost of Churchill Falls power sold to the Quebec Hydro-Electric Commission and the Newfoundland and Labrador Power Commission.

The huge power-generation and transmission development by the Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation is to be financed largely by the sale of first-mortgage bonds, of which the Corporation will be endeavouring to sell more than \$400 million in the United States. The remission applies to the withholding tax of 15 per cent that would otherwise be collected on payments of interest on these bonds to non-residents.

Mr. Benson said that one of the main considerations in the Government's decision was the fact that virtually all Churchill Falls power will be sold to the Quebec and Newfoundland power commissions, which, as provincially-owned agencies, are exempt from withholding tax on any bond-interest payments to nonresident investors. A further factor is that, under the long-standing policy of adjusting federal taxes on privately-owned power corporations where such taxes materially affect their position relative to provinciallyowned power commissions, 95 per cent of the federal corporation income tax paid by the Churchill Falls (Labrador) Corporation will be transferred to the Province of Newfoundland.

The Minister said that, without the exemption from withholding tax, the sale of such a very large issue of bonds in the United States might be impossible, and in any event would be unduly costly. If the project were to go ahead without the exemption, the cost of power sold to Quebec and Newfoundland would be increased.

LITERARY AWARDS

Six Canadian writers received Governor-General's Awards for Literature for 1967 in Ottawa this month. The award-winners are: poetry in English, Eli Mandel for An Idiot Joy, and Alden Nowlan for Bread, Wine and Salt; fiction in French, Jacques Godbout for Salut Galarneau; theatre in French, Françoise Loranger for Encore cinq minutes; non-fiction in English, Norah Story for The Oxford Companion to Canadian History and Literature; non-fiction in French, Robert-Lionel Séguin for La Civilisation traditionnelle de l'"Habitant" aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.

Each of the six winners received a speciallybound copy of his book from the Governor General in an afternoon ceremony at Government House. In the evening, they received cash prizes of \$2,500, during an informal dinner given by the Canada Council in their honour. The winners were chosen by the Governor-General's Awards Committee from among all literary works by Canadian authors published in 1967. Chairman of the committee for 1967 was Mr. Léopold Lamontagne, Director of the Service for Admission to College and University, Ottawa.

The previous year's winners were Margaret Laurence for the novel, A Jest of God; Claire Martin for her fictional memoirs, La Joue droite; Margaret Atwood for her poems, The Circle Game; Réjean Ducharme for the poetic content of his novel, L'Avalée des avalés; George Woodcock for The Crystal Spirit: A Study of George Orwell; and Marcel Trudel for Le Comptoir, 1604-1627, the second volume of his Histoire de la Nouvelle France.

No award was given for 1967 for fiction in English. This was the first time in the 31-year history of the Awards that two prizes had been given for poetry in English.

WORLD HEALTH DELEGATES

The Canadian delegation to the twenty-first World Health Assembly in Geneva is headed by Dr. John N. Crawford, federal Deputy Minister of National Health. Other delegates to the May 6-24 meeting are: Mr. Jean-Louis Delisle, Ambassador and Canadian Permanent Representative to the United Nations Office, Geneva; Mr. Norbert Thériault, New Brunswick Minister of Health; Dr. O.H. Curtis, Prince Edward Island Deputy Minister of Health; Dr. J.B. Morison, Manitoba Deputy Minister of Health, Dr. B.D.B. Layton, Dr. R.B. Goyette and Miss Florence Comtois, Department of National Health and Welfare; Mr. R.J. McKinnon and Mr. J.J. Corbeil, Office of the Canadian Permanent Representative, Geneva.

WHO TWENTIETH ANNIVERSARY

The World Health Organization, a Specialized Agency of the United Nations concerned with the control and prevention of disease, is this year celebrating its twentieth anniversary. The theme of the celebrations – "Health of Tomorrow" – is illustrated by the choice of five objectives to emphasize the principles of preventive medicine: to strengthen public health administration; to control communicable disease; to promote technical education; to provide permanent world-wide health services, and to encourage research.

The WHO began its work 20 years ago with limited funds and unlimited problems. Among the emergency priorities agreed on by its members were the elimination of tuberculosis, malaria and venereal disease, better health care for mothers and children, and the improvement of nutrition and sanitation. Today, the 126 member states and three associated states are co-operating in the establishment of the principles and practice of preventive medicine both at home and abroad by the pooling of their knowledge and skills.

At the request of its membership, the Organization provides assistance in six designated regions of Africa, the Americas, Southeast Asia, Europe, the Eastern Mediterranean and the Western Pacific.