of national interest. The Associate Committee structure provides the means to this end. When an associate committee has been established to deal with a given project, it proceeds to co-ordinate resources, plan the programme, allocate studies in such a way that maximum results are produced under most economical conditions. In all cases, the nature of the individual problem dictates the method through which it is approached. Hence there is a great diversity in committees; some are of long-standing duration; others work only for a pre-arranged length of time, or until a certain job is finished.

The National Research Council finances its Associate Committees. The number of Associate committees varies from year to year as some projects are completed and new ones begun.

The first Medical Research Committee was organized under the leadership of the late Sir Frederick Banting. To this committee the National Research Council grants an allocation for which the committee has the sole responsibility in financing projects and assisting workers in the university hospitals and medical research institutes in Canada. The pilot plant for the production of penicillin was financed through a grant from this committee. Medical Research Committees were also established during the war to direct work of special interest to each of the three armed services.

The Grain Research Committee, as an example of the co-ordination of interested groups, is a joint committee of the National Research Council and the Dominion Department of Agriculture, with the Department of Trade and Commerce and three prairie universities co-operating. Twelve interested organizations co-operate to form the Associate Committee on Aeronautical Research. Some large problems require the collaboration of two committees; for example, the Field Crop Diseases Committee works closely with the Grain Research Committee.

At the present time, the National Research Council is directing associate committees on aeronautical research, artificial limbs, asbestos, Canadian Government purchasing standards, coal classifications, corrosion research, dental research, electrical research, explosives, field crop diseases, fish culture, food preservation, forestry, geophysics, grain research, high temperature metals, high voltage systems, industrial radiology, the national building code, oceanography, parisitology, petroleum, photographic research, plant breeding, soil and snow mechanics, survey research, synthetic rubber research; and advisory committee on medical research; special committees on applied mathematics, applied mathematical statistics, electrical units and regulations, the Prairie Regional Laboratory; and a co-ordinating committee on Western crop investigations.

Other Dominion Government Departments collaborating with the National Research Council Associate Committees and laboratories are:

- Department of Agriculture Division of Science Service and Experimental Farm Service.
- Department of Trade and Commerce The Board of Grain Commissioners Laboratory.
- Department of Mines and Resources Bureau of Mines, Dominion Forest Service.

Department of Fisheries - Fisheries Research Board.

Department of Reconstruction and Supply - Research and Development Branch.

Department of National Health and Welfare.

- 4 -