## THE SECURITY COUNCIL

The composition of the Security Council for the year 1963 was as follows:

Permanent members: Britain, China, France, the U.S.S.R., the United States.

Non-Permanent members: Brazil, Ghana, Morocco, Norway, the Philippines, Venezuela.

Elections took place in the General Assembly in October and November 1963 to replace Ghana, the Philippines and Venezuela, whose terms of office expired at the end of the year. Bolivia and Ivory Coast were elected for regular two-year terms, while Czechoslovakia and Malaysia were elected for split terms. Under the arrangement, Czechoslovakia will occupy the seat for 1964 and Malaysia will be elected for the year 1965. During 1964 the non-permanent members will therefore be Bolivia, Brazil, Czechoslovakia, Ivory Coast, Morocco and Norway.

## Senegal-Portugal

In April the Secretary Council considered a Senegalese complaint that aircraft from the neighbouring territory of Portuguese Guinea had violated Senegal's airspace and bombed a small frontier village. These and other allegations were denied by Portugal during the Council's debate on the issue. On April 24 the Council adopted unanimously a resolution [S/5292] deploring any incursion by Portuguese military forces into Senegalese territory and asking Portugal, in accordance with its declared intentions, "to take whatever action may be necessary to prevent any violation of Senegal's sovereignty and territorial integrity". The resolution also requested the Secretary-General to keep the development of the situation under review.

## Haiti-Dominican Republic

The Council met in May to take up a complaint lodged by Haiti against the Dominican Republic. During the debate, Haiti complained of repeated threats of aggression made by the Dominican Republic and of attempts at interference in its internal affairs. In turn, the Dominican representative contended that the Haitian Government's true purpose was to provoke a crisis