Of the British Columbia Southern Railway Company; praying for the passing of an Act extending the time for the completion of its line, and to build a line between a point near Fort Steele to a point near Golden, and branch line therefrom, and for other purposes.

Of the Nisbet Academy of Prince Albert and Synod of Manitoba and the Northwest Territories; praying for the passing of an Act empowering them to wind up and

distribute the assets in the manner set out in the said Act ;-and

Of the Hamilton Powder Company; praying for the passing of an Act amending their Act of Incorporation by increasing its Capital Stock.

The Honourable Mr. Clemow presented to the House the following Certificate from the Clerk of the Senate:—

Office of the Clerk of the Senate, Ottawa, 23rd March, 1899.

In the matter of Isaac Stephen Gerow Van Wart, Petitioner for a Bill of Divorce: I hereby certify that I have received from the Petitioner the sum of two hundred dollars, in accordance with Rule 108 of this House.

EDOUARD J. LANGEVIN,

Clerk of the Senate.

Ordered, That the same do lie on the Table.

Then the Honourable Mr. Clemow presented the Petition of Isaac Stephen Gerow Van Wart, of the City of Calgary, in the district of Alberta, in the North-west Territories, and the same was laid on the Table.

The Honourable Mr. Scott, from the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, presented their Report.

Ordered, That it be received, and

The same was then read by the Clerk, and it is as follows:-

THE SENATE,

Committee Room No. 2, Thursday, 23rd March, 1899.

The Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present Session, have the honour to report herewith the following lists of Senators selected by them to serve on each of the said Standing Committees, namely:—

The Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament:-

The Honourable the Speaker, and the Honourable Messieurs Allan, Almon, Baker, Boucheruille, de, C.M.G., Drummond, Gowan, C.M.G., Hingston, Sir William, Kt., Landry, Masson, MacInnes, Miller, Poirier, Power, Reesor, Ross, and Scott.—17.

The Joint Committee on the Printing of Parliament :-

The Honourable Messieurs Armand, Bernier, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Cochrane, Dever, Dobson, Ferguson, Fiset, King, Macdonald (P.E.I.), MacKeen, McKindsey, Merner, O'Donohoe, Ogilvie, Power, Primrose, Reid, Sanford, Sullivan, and Wark.—21.

The Committee on Standing Orders:—

The Honourable Messieurs Bellerose, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Clemow, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Macdonald (Victoria), McDonald (Cape Breton), McKay, Prowse, and Yeo.—9.