The total number of persons engaged in the Outside Service of this Department, at the close of the calendar year, was 1,647.

The Lighthouse service of the Dominion is comprised under the following Divisions, viz: The Ontario Division embracing Lights above Montreal; the Quebec Division extending below Montreal and including the River and Gulf of St. Lawrence; the New Brunswick Division, the Nova Scotia Division; the Prince Edward Island Division, and the British Columbia Division. The total number of Light Stations in the Dominion on the 31st December last was 416, and of Lights shown 509, the number of Steam Fog-whistles and automatic Fog Horns, 27; and the number of Light-keepers, Engineers of Fog-whistles, and their assistants, with crews of lightships, was 474.

The following are the number of light stations, of lights shewn, of fog-whistles and of automatic fog horns in the Provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and British Columbia, at 31st December of each year from 1868 to 1877 inclusive. In these numbers are included three light stations on the coast of Newfoundland, one light from each of which is shewn.

	Light Stations.	Lights Shewn	Fog Whistles.	Automatic Fog-horns.
1868	198	227	2	• •
1869	219	233	2	
1870	240	278	4	• •
1871	264	297	8	
1872	280	314	13	• •
1873	316	363	17	• •
1874	342	384	18	••
1875	377	444	22	• •
1876	407	488	24	
1877	416	509	25	2

ONTARIO LIGHTHOUSE DIVISION.

This Division includes the Lighthouses and Lightships in that part of the Province of Quebec lying between Montreal and the boundary line between the Provinces of Ontario and Quebec, as also all the Lights in the Province of Ontario, embracing the Lights on the Ottawa River, the St. Lawrence River above Montreal, and Lakes Ontario, Simcoe, Erie, and Huron, the Georgian Bay and Lake Superior. The number of Lights in this Division at the close of navigation was 143, including both Lighthouses and Light Beacons, four Lightships maintained by the Government, and one Lightship maintained in part by a subsidy from the Government. There are eighty-seven Buoys and four Beacons.

The number of Lightkeepers in this Division, paid directly by the Government, was 106; but in several cases assistants were employed by keepers at their own expense.