Commons is the presiding officer. He is elected by the Commons from among themselves, and votes only when there is a tie.

The Federal Government has control of

- (a) Customs and Excise.
- (b) Militia and Defence.
- (c) Post Offices. (d) Penitentiaries.
- (e) Appointing of Lieutenant Governors, Judges and Senators.

大きる多国を

(f) The power to veto Provincial Legislation considered hurtful to the Dominion.

II. PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT.

- 2. The Provincial Governments consist of three or of four parts:
- (1) Lieutenant-Governor, appointed for five years by the Governor-General-in-Council.
- (2) The Cabinet or Ministran composed of members of either House. It must have the support of the Assembly.
- (3) The Legislative Council, appointed for life by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council.
- (4, The Legislative Assembly, elected for four years by the people.
- Ontario, Manitoba, British Columbia and New Brunswick have no Legislative Council, and the Legislative Council of Prince Edward is elective.

The Provincial Governments have control of

- (a) Education.
- (b) Crown Lands.
- (c) The appointment of all Officers of Courts of Justice, except Judges.
- (d) The Enforcing of all Laws. (e) Control of Jails and Asylums.
- (f) Regulation of the Sale of Liquor. (g) Control of Municipal Institutions.
- The debts of the various provinces were assumed by the Dominion, and a certain yearly revenue is granted to each province a cording to population. Each province may raise money by direct taxation.