College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan

The first election for the council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan took place on June 16th, the time for receiving ballots expiring on the 15th. For the purposes of the College the province is divided int oseven districts, each of which is entitled to one member on the council. The counting of the ballots, which was conducted under the supervision of the acting registrar, Dr. G. A. Charlton, with J. A. Cross and F. W. Turnbull acting as scrutineers, shows the following elected:---

Dist.

1-Stanley Miller, M.D., Battleford.

2-A. M. G. Young, M.D., Saskatoon.

3-J. T. Irving, M.D., Yorkton.

4-A. E. Kelly, M.D., Swift Current.

5-W. A. Thomson, M.D., Regina.

6-H. Eaglesham, M.D., Weyburn.

7-A. W. Argue, M.D., Grenfell.

The act under which the college was constituted was passed by the Legislature in 1906, but owing to the delay in passing a similar act in the province of Alberta, the medical profession in both of the new provinces has until quite recently been subject to the rules and regulations which obtained in the old territorial days. Each province now, however, has its separate college which has control over the medical profession within its own jurisdiction.

110