Mr. Speaker: Hon, members have heard the amendment. All those in favour of the amendment will please sav vea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the amendment (Mr. Knowles, Winnipeg North Centre) which was negatived on the following division:

#### YEAS

Laprise

Latulippe

Lundrigan

MacInnis (Mrs.)

MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond)

Alexander Asselin Baldwin Beaudoin Bell Benjamin Bigg Brewin Burton Cadieu Code Comeau Crouse Diefenbaker Downey Fairweather Fortin Gauthier Gilbert Gleave Godin Grills Hales Harding Harkness Horner Howard (Skeena)

Knowles (Winnipeg

North Centre)

(Bellechasse)

(Edmonton West)

Haldimand)

Korchinski

Lambert

Lambert

Knowles (Norfolk-

MacLean Macquarrie MacRae McCleave McCutcheon McGrath McIntosh McKinley Mather Mazankowski Monteith Moore Noble Orlikow Paproski Ricard Ritchie Rodrigue Rynard Simpson Skoberg Southam Stewart (Marquette) Thomas (Moncton) Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson

# NAYS

Winch

Woolliams

Yewchuk-(67).

### Messrs:

Allmand Badanai Barrett Basford Béchard Beer Benson Blair Boulanger Breau Buchanan

Howe

Caccia Chappell Corbin Corriveau Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cullen Cyr Davis Deachman De Bané

(Battleford-Kindersley)

## Division

### Messrs:

Dubé Dupras Duquet Émard Faulkner Forest Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gervais Gibson Gillespie Goode Gover Gray

Greene Guay (St. Boniface)

Guilbault Hogarth Hopkins Howard

(Okanagan Boundary) Jamieson

Jerome Kaplan Lachance Laflamme Laing

(Vancouver South) Lang (Saskatoon-Humboldt) Laniel

La Salle Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lessard (LaSalle)

(Lac-Saint-Jean)

Lind Loiselle MacEachen MacGuigan Mackasev McBride

McNulty

Mahoney Major Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Marchand

(Kamloops-Cariboo)

Morison Munro Noël Orange Osler Otto Penner Pepin Perrault Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Reid Richardson Roberts Robinson Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Sharp Stafford

Smith (Saint-Jean) Stewart (Cochrane) Sulatycky Sullivan

Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Tolmie

Trudel Turner (London East) Watson

Whelan Whicher Whiting Yanakis-(105).

• (5:10 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: I declare the amendment lost.

Mr. A. D. Hales (Wellington): Mr. Speaker, first of all I should like to apologize to the House for taking a few moments to introduce an amendment to the bill now before us. The subject of this amendment is of importance to every member of the House no matter in which province his riding might be located. It is of particular interest to me as mover of the amendment.

The amendment is based on the fact that the minister of the environment is now responsible for the administration of the Canada Water Act. The Canada Water Act has taken the place of the Canada Conservation Assistance Act. Under the Canada Conservation Assistance Act, when any municipality or area in this country wished to build a dam or set up a conservation program a federal formula was laid down whereby the federal government would pay  $37\frac{1}{2}$  per cent, the provincial government  $37\frac{1}{2}$ per cent and the municipality 25 per cent.

When the Canada Conservation Assistance Act was repealed and replaced by the Canada Water Act, this