Division

combination of a heartless, detached technician called a Prime Minister and a former bookkeeper for a used car dealer. This great bookkeeper happens to be the Minister of Finance. With this combination, what can the working people of the nation expect?

An hon. Member: A great deal.

Mr. Howard (Skeena): They can look forward to being fed into a computer, to emerge as statistics, or to being fleeced. Probably to both.

Mr. Perrault: Keep it non-political now.

Mr. Howard (Skeena): The Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Labour (Mr. Perrault). the whole government and the whole Liberal party are really proud of themselves tonight, Mr. Speaker. They set out to bring this nation to its knees, and to their everlasting shame they have succeeded.

Mr. Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands): Hear, hear!

Mr. Howard (Skeena): My leader applauds that remark.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Order, please. It being 9.45 o'clock p.m., it is my duty, pursuant to Standing Order 60(8) to interrupt these proceedings and forthwith put every question necessary to dispose of the question now before the House. The question is on the motion of the Minister of Finance (Mr. Benson).

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Benson) which was agreed to on the following division:

• (9:50 p.m.)

Anderson Andras Badanai Barrett Basford Béchard Beer Benson Blair Blouin Borrie Breau Buchanan Caccia Cafik Chappell Chrétien Clermont Corbin Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Cullen Cvr Danson Deachman Deakon Douglas (Assiniboia) Drury Dubé Dupras Faulkner [Mr. Howard (Skeena).] YEAS

Messrs: Forget Foster Francis Gendron Gibson Gillespie Givens Goode Gover Grav Groos Guay (St. Boniface) Guilbault Haidasz Hellyer Hogarth Hopkins Howard (Okanagan Boundary) Hymmen Isabelle Jerome Kaplan Laing (Vancouver South) Lang Saskatoon-Humboldt) Langlois Leblanc (Laurier) LeBlanc (Rimouski) Lefebvre

Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Lind MacEachen MacGuigan McBride McNulty Mahoney Major Marceau Marchand (Langelier) Morison Murphy Noël O'Connell Olson Orange Osler Otto Ouellet Pelletier Penner Pepin Perrault Pringle Prud'homme Richard

Baldwin Barnett Bell Benjamin Bigg Brewin Burton Carter Coates Diefenbaker Dinsdale Dionne Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Downey Fairweather Flemming Gauthier Gilbert Gundlock Harding Harkness Howard (Skeena) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Korchinski Lambert (Edmonton West) Laprise La Salle Latulippe Lewis Lundrigan MacDonald (Egmont) MacInnis (Cape Breton-East Richmond) Messrs: Richardson Roberts Robinson Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins) Roy (Laval) Serré Sharp Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Smith (Saint-Jean) Stafford St. Pierre Sulatvcky Sullivan Thomas (Maisonneuve-Rosemont) Tolmie Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Watson Weatherhead Whelan Whicher Whiting-114.

NAYS

Messrs: MacInnis (Mrs.) MacLean McCleave McGrath McIntosh McQuaid Marshall Mather Matte Mazankowski Muir Nowlan Nystrom Orlikow Paproski Peddle Peters Ricard Rodrigue Rondeau Rose Rowland Saltsman Schumacher Simpson Southam Stanfield Stewart (Marquette) Tétrault Thomas (Moncton) Thompson (Red Deer) Thomson (Battleford-Kindersley) Valade Yewchuk-66.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Lundrigan: I rise on a point of order, Mr. Speaker.