The Honourable Mr. Gibson, from the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present session, presented their First Report.

Ordered, That it be received, and the same was then read by the Clerk, and it is

as follows:-

THE SENATE,

COMMITTEE ROOM No. 8, THURSDAY, November 29th, 1906.

The Committee of Selection, appointed to nominate the senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present session, have the honour to report herewith the following lists of senators selected by them to serve on each of the said Standing Committees, namely:—

The Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament:-

The Honourable the Speaker, and the Honourable Messieurs: Baker, Bernier, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Cartwright, Sir Richard, G.C.M.G., Davis, Douglas, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Godbout, Cowan, Sir James Robert, K.C.M.G., Jaffray, Legris, McHugh, Miller, Poirier, Power, Wilson.—17.

The Joint Committee on the Printing of Parliament:-

The Honourable Messieurs: Bernier, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Choquette, Cloran, Coffey, DeVeber, Dobson, Domville, Ellis, Fiset, Frost, Legris, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, Merner, Riley, Ross (Halifax), Roy, Shehyn, Talbot.—21.

The Committee on Standing Orders:-

The Honourable Messieurs: Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Choquette, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Macdonald (Victoria), McGregor, McKay (Truro), Tessier, Yeo, Young.—9.

The Committee on Banking and Commerce:-

The Honourable Messieurs: Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Cartwright, Sir Richard, G.C.M.G., Casgrain (Windsor), Cox, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Edwards, Ferguson, Forget, Gibson, Hingston, Sir William, Kt., Jaffray, Jones, Kerr, Lougheed, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, McDonald (Cape Breton), McGregor, McMillan, McMullen, McSweeney, Mitchell, Perley, Ross (Moosejaw), Scott, Sullivan, Thibaudeau (Rigaud), Thibaudeau (de la Vallière), Thompson, Wood, Yeo.—32.

The Committee on Railways, Telegraphs and Harbours:-

The Honourable Messieurs: Baird, Baker, Béique, Bolduc, Bostock, Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Casgrain (de Lanaudière), Choquette, Cox, David, Davis, DeVeber, Domville, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Edwards, Ellis, Ferguson, Fiset, Forget, Frost, Gibson, Godbout, Jones, Kerr, King, Kirchhoffer, Landry, Lougheed, Lovitt, Macdonald (Victoria), Mackay (Alma), McDonald (Cape Breton), McHugh, McKay (Truro), McLaren, McMillan, McMullen, Mitchell, Owens, Poirier, Power, Ross (Moosejaw), Scott, Shehyn, Sullivan, Tessier, Thompson, Watson, Young.—50.

The Committee on Miscellaneous Private Bills:-

The Honourable Messieurs: Baird, Béique, Bostock, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Casgrain (Windsor), Cloran, David, Domville, Douglas, Edwards, Godbout, Hingston, Sir William, Kt., Kerr, Landry, Legris, McGregor, McHugh, McSweeney, Merner, Montplaisir, Ross (Halifax), Shehyn, Talbot, Thibaudeau (Rigaud), Thibaudeau (de la Vallière).—25.

The Committee on Internal Economy and Contingent Accounts:

The Honourable Messieurs: Bernier, Bolduc, Casgrain (de Lanaudière), Fiset, Frost, Gibson, Jones, King, Landry, Lovitt, McDonald (Cape Breton), McLaren, Miller, Montplaisir, Owens, Perley, Power, Riley, Robertson, Ross (Moosejaw), Thompson, Watson, Wilson, Wood, Yeo.—25.