21036.7

BILL

To augment the number of Representatives to serve hereafter in the Assembly of this Province.

HEREAS it is expedient to augment the number of Representatives to serve in the Assembly of this Province; Be it therefore enacted by the King's Most Excellent Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of the Province of Lower-Canada, constituted and assembled by virtue of and under the authority of an Act passed in the Parliament of Great Britain, intituled, "An Act to repeal certain parts of an Act passed in the fourteenth year of His Majesty's reign, intituled, "An Act for making more effectual provision for the Government of the Province of Quebec in North- "America," and to make further provision for the "Government of the said Province," and it is hereby enacted by the authority of the same, that the number of Representatives to serve in the Assembly of this Province, shall from and after the present Provincial Parliament be augmented to sixty, that is to say, there shall be elected and returned, for the several Counties, to be erected in virtue of this Act, one Representative to serve in the Assembly aforesaid, for each of the newly erected Counties hereinafter-mentioned, and an additional Representative in such other Counties hereinafter-mentioned as are not by this Act subdivided.

II. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, that the following Seigniories and Townships in the District of Montreal, and comprised within the present Counties of Bedford and Richelieu, shall be and the same are hereby erected into a County, to be called the County of that is to say; the Seigniories of Sabrevois, Noyan, Foucault, St. Armand, and the Townships of Dunham, Stanbridge, Sutton, Potton, Stanstead, Barnston, Hatley, Bolton, Brome, Farnham, Granby, Shefford, Stukeley, Orford, Ely, Roxton, and Milton.

III. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, that the following Townships in the District of Three Rivers, shall be and the same are hereby erected into a County, to be called the County of that is to say; Upton, Grantham, Wickham, Melbourne, Brompton, Ascot, Compton, Barford, Hereford, Clifton, Auckland, Emberton, Eaton, Newport, Ditton, Chesham, Clinton, Marston, Hampden, Bury, Westbury, Dudswell, Lingwick, Stafford, Garthby, Weedon, Stoke, Windsor, Shipton, Kingsey, Simpson, Wendover, Wotton, Ham, Wolfstown, Chester, Tingwick, Warwick, Arthabaska, Stanfold, Bulstrode, Aston, Maddington, Blandford.

IV. And be it further enacted by the authority aforesaid, that the following Townships lying within that part of the present County of Buckinghamshire which is comprised within the District of Quebec, shall be and the same are hereby erected into a County to be called the County of that is to say; Somerset, Nelson, Halifax, Inverness, Leeds,