HISTORICAL SKETCH

OF

FAIRVILLE BAPTIST CHURCH

COMPILED BY MISS MILDRED BLACK AND MISS EDDA STEVENS, AND READ ON THE OCCASION OF THE BURNING OF THE MORTGAGE, ON THE EVENING OF JAN. 18th, 1910.

Few perhaps, if any, of the younger people in this audience can go back in their memories to the Fairville of the old days, before the first great fire which so wofully dismantled our little village. Fewer still, yes, very few, can call up a picture of the Fairville of a decade before that. Some old landmarks of so many years ago still survive, but more generally newer buildings occupy the old sites.

At this time, say 1880, only thirty years ago, Fairville possessed the public buildings common to all villages, and not least among them, churches. The first Protestant church built in Fairville was the Methodist. Here, for many years, the churchgoing people of Fairville and out-lying districts worshipped. Services were sometimes held in halls or school houses by the few Baptists in the place, at that time; but it was not until the summer of 1881 that the old brick church with its tall spire was erected on the site of this present building. Here in the vestry of the new church, on Tuesday, September 6, 1881, there met together a few people for the purpose of organizing the First Baptist Church of Fairville. These charter members were twenty-six in number, and their names were: Rev. J. F. Bartlett, C. P. Baker, John J. Waring, Albert Ferris, Foster MacFarlane, M. D., David Philips, Nathan Canning, J. H. Cooper, Charles W. Anderson, H. C. Stackhouse, Mrs. Sadie Bartlett, Mrs. Amanda Baker, Mrs. Maria Canning, Mrs. Hannah Thomas, Mrs. Mary E. Taylor, Mrs. Mary A. Irvine, Mrs. Margaret Philips, Mrs. Isabella Chute, Mrs. Mary P. Baker, Mrs. Mary Buchanan, Mrs. Rebecca McLean, Mrs. Eleanor Anderson, Mrs. Melissa P. Ferris, Mrs. Margaret J. Stackhouse, George Fowler.

Six of these are still members of this church: Mr. and Mrs. C. P. Baker, George Fowler, Mr. and Mrs. David Philips, and Albert Ferris,

On motion moderator and secretary were chosen pro tem, and the first set of church officers was duly elected as follows:

C. P. Baker, J. J. Waring, A. Ferris, Foster MacFarlane, M. D., deacon.

Dr. Foster MacFarlane, clerk. Ebenezer Sutton, treasurer.

On Thursday evening, September 15, a delegation, composed of the pastor and delegates from all the neighboring churches, met, and before a large audience publicly and prayerfully recognized the new organization as a regular Baptist church.