is the fact that at the Washington conference Comtois everyone was aroused. Whatever we have done, we have caused concern among the NATO allies that we have never caused before.

Some hon. Members: Hear, hear.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Order, please. It being 9.45 p.m. it is my duty, pursuant to a special order made on Wednesday, April 16, 1969, to interrupt these proceedings and put forthwith the question. Is the house ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Question.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Call in the members.

The house divided on the amendment to the amendment (Mr. Douglas), which was negatived on the following division:

• (9:50 p.m.)

North Centre)

Alexander

YEAS

Messrs: Brewin Lewis Burton Mather Douglas (Nanaimo-Orlikow Cowichan-The Islands) Saltsman Gilbert Schreyer Gleave Skoberg Harding Thomson Knowles (Winnipeg Winch-15.

NAYS

Messrs:

Bigg

Blair

Alkenbrack Breau Allmand Anderson Brown Buchanan Andras Asselin Caccia Cadieux (Labelle) Badanai Cantin Baldwin Carter Barrett Chappell Basford Béchard Clermont Coates Beer Bell Cobbe Code Benson

Division

McCutcheon Corbin McGrath Côté (Richelieu) McIlraith Côté (Longueuil) McKinley Cullen McNulty Danforth Mahoney Danson Major Davis Marceau Deachman Deakon Marshall De Bané Mazankowski Dinsdale Monteith

Dionne Dubé Duquet Emard Fairweather Forest Forget Forrestall Foster Francis Gendron Gillespie Godin Gover

Grills Guay (St. Boniface) Guay (Lévis)

Guilbault Gundlock Haidasz Hales Harkness Hees Honey

Gray

Hopkins Howard (Okanagan

Boundary) Howe Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Kaplan Kierans

Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Korchinski Laflamme

Lambert (Edmonton

West) Lang Langlois Laniel La Salle Latulippe Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre

Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lessard (Lac-Saint-Jean) Wahn

Macdonald (Rosedale) MacEachen MacEwan MacGuigan

MacInnis Mackasev Macquarrie McCleave

Marchand (Langelier)

Morison

Muir (Cape Breton-The Sydneys) Muir (Lisgar) Murphy Nesbitt Noël O'Connell Olson Orange

Osler Ouellet Paproski Peddle Pelletier Penner Pilon Portelance Pringle Prud'homme Reid Richard Richardson

Roberts Rochon Rock Rodrigue Roy (Laval) Rynard Schumacher Scott Serré

Simpson Smith (Saint-Jean) Southam Stafford

Stanbury Stanfield Stewart (Cochrane)

Sharp

Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) Sullivan

Thomas (Maisonneuve) Thomas (Moncton)

Thompson Tolmie Trudeau Trudel

Turner (Ottawa-Carleton)

Walker Watson Weatherhead Whiting Woolliams Yanakis-165.