Yeas, 90; Nays, 45.

Majority against the Government, 45.

The following is the division:-

Benoit, Yeas—Messrs. Ault, Bechard, Bertrand, Bodwell, Bolton, Bourassa, Bowell, Bowman, Brown, Burpee, Caldwell, Cameron (Huron), Cameron (Inverness), Caron, Cayley, Cheval, Cimon, Coffin, Colby, Connell, Costigan, Coupal, Croke, Daoust, Desaulnier, Dobbie, Drew, Dufresne, Ferris, Forbes, Fortier, Fortin, Gaucher, Gaudet, Geoffrion, Gendron, Godin, Hagar, Holton, Jones (Halifax), Jones (Leeds), Kempt, Kierzkowski, Lawson, McDonald (Antigonish), McDonald (Lunenburg), Macfarlane, Magill, Masson McConkey, (Soulanges), McCarthy, McKeagney, McLellan, McMillan, (Vaudreuil), McMonies, Mills, Morison (Victoria, Ont.), Munro, Oliver, Paquet, Parker, Perry, Pinsonneault, Pope, Pouliot, Pozer, Ray, Redford, Renaud, Robitaille, Ross (Dundas), Ross (Prince Edward), Ross (Victoria, N.S.), Rymal, Scatcherd, Senecal, Snider, Sproat, Stephenson, Stirton, Thompson, Tremblay, Wallace, Webb, Wells, White, Whitehead, Wilson, Young—90.

Blake, Nays—Archambeault, Bellerose, Blanchet, Bown, Burton, Cameron (Peel), Cartier, Cartwright, Casault. Chamberlin, Chauveau, Crawford (Leeds), Currier, Dunkin, Galt, Gray, Heath, Howland, Huot, Jackson, Johnson, Keeler, Kirkpatrick, Langlois, Langevin, Macdonald (Sir J. A.), McDonald (Middlesex), Mackenzie, Masson (Terrebonne), McDougall, Morris, Morrison (Niagara), Merritt, Rose, Ross (Champlain), Ryan (Montreal West), Shanly, Simard, Tilley, Workman, Simpson, Walsh, Wright-45.

The Main motion, as amended, was then put and carried. Yeas, 108; Nays, 27.

Majority against the Government, 81.

Yeas-Messrs. Ault, Bechard, Bellerose, Benoit, Bertrand, Blake, Blanchet, Bodwell,

The amendment was then put and carried. Bolton, Bourassa, Bowell, Bowman, Brown, eas, 90; Nays, 45. Burpee, Caldwell, Cameron (Huron), Cameron (Inverness), Caron, Cayley, Cheval, Cimon, Coffin, Colby, Connell, Costigan, Coupal, Croke, Daoust, Desaulnier, Dobbie, Drew, Dufresne, Ferris, Forbes, Fortier, Fortin, Gaucher, Gaudet, Geoffrion, Gendron, Godin, Grover, Hagar, Holton, Huot, Jones (Halifax), Jones (Leeds and Grenville), Kempt, Kierzkowski, Langlois, Lawson, McDonald (Antigonish), McDonald (Lunenburg), Macfarlane, Mackenzie, Magill, Masson (Soulanges), Masson (Terrebonne), McCarthy, McConkey, McKeagney, McLellan, McMillan (Vaudreuil), McMonies, Mills, Morison (Victoria, O.), Munro, Oliver, Paquet, Parker, Perry, Pinsonneault, Pope, Pouliot, Pozer, Ray, Redford, Renaud, Robitaille, Ross (Champlain), Ross (Dundas), Ross (Prince Edward), Ross (Victoria, N.B.), Rymal, Scatcherd, Senecal, Snider, Sproat, Stephenson, Stirton, Thompson (Haldimand), Tremblay, Wallace, Webb, Wells, White, Whitehead, Wilson, Workman, Young—100.

> Nays- Messrs. Archambault, Bown, Burton, Cameron (Peel), Carling, Cartier, Cartwright, Casault, Chamberlin, Chauveau, Crawford (Leeds), Carrier, Dunkin, Galt, Gray, Heath, Howland, Jackson, Johnson, Keeler, Kirkpatrick, Langevin, Macdonald (Sir J. A.,) McDonald (Middlesex), McDougall, Morris, Morrison (Niagara), Merrit, Rose, Ryan (Montreal W.), Shanly, Simard, Simpson, Tilley, Walsh, Wright-36.

> The House then went into Committee-Mr. Stirton in the Chair, and adopted Mr. Oliver's resolution, fixing the salary of the Governor-General at \$32,000 a year.

> The Committee rose and reported the resolution, and the report was ordered to be received to-morrow.

> The House adjourned, on motion of Sir John A. Macdonald, at one o'clock.