WEDNESDAY, June 25, 1952.

The Committee met at 12.00 o'clock noon. The chairman, Hon. Walter Harris, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Applewhaite, Blair, Boucher, Brooks, Decore, Dewar, Fair, Gauthier (Sudbury), Gauthier (Portneuf), Harkness, Harris (Grey-Bruce), Johnston, Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough), Knowles, MacNaught, McIlraith, Mott, Murphy, Murray (Cariboo), Nowlan, Picard, Robinson, Ross (Souris), Viau, Welbourn, Whitman, Winkler, Wright.

In attendance: Mr. Nelson Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer.

The Committee resumed consideration of the schedule to a proposed bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons.

On motion of Mr. Mott,

Resolved: That the schedule concerning the province of British Columbia, adopted on the previous day, be amended as follows:

- (a) A change is made in Vancouver-Quadra and Vancouver South which reduces Vancouver-Quadra by 2,250 leaving Vancouver-Quadra 64,120 and adding 2,250 to Vancouver South making Vancouver South 65,960.
- (b) A change is made in Okanagan-Revelstoke area by reducing its total from 47,636 to 36,136 and adding the difference of 11,500 to Okanagan-Boundary making 47,299. This change is effected by extending the Northern boundary of Oganagan-Boundary District north to take in Kelowna.

Consideration of the schedule to the proposed bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons was suspended and the Committee proceeded to the consideration of a draft bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons.

On motion of Mr. MacNaught the said proposed draft bill was adopted and ordered to be recommended to the House forthwith. (See Third Report to the House).

The Committee resumed consideration of the schedule to the proposed bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons.

Mr. Viau, convenor, on behalf of the province of Manitoba presented a report concerning the proposed schedule of that province as follows:

SUB-COMMITTEE OF MANITOBA

I hereby submit the following as a majority report of the sub-committee for the Province of Manitoba appointed to consider the re-adjustment of the representation in the House of Commons for the said Province:

There shall be in the province of Manitoba fourteen electoral districts, named and described as follows, each of which shall elect and return one member.

In the following descriptions, "range" and "township" refer to the ranges and townships in accordance with the Dominion lands system of surveys and include the extension thereof in accordance with the said system.

Reference to "street", "avenue", "road" or "railway" in the following descriptions signifies the centre line of the said street, avenue, road or railway unless otherwise described.

1. BRANDON-SOURIS consisting of townships one (1) to ten (10) inclusive in ranges sixteen (16) to eighteen (18) inclusive west of the principal