by approximately 45 minority tribes — mostly small pastoral groups who were united by a common fear of domination by the Kikuyu. They were particularly anxious to retain traditional rights to their tribal lands. For this reason, they strongly supported the establishment of regions based on tribal considerations which would, in fact, confine the larger tribes to certain areas.

Neither party achieved a majority in the 1961 elections and a coalition government was formed. A conference held in London in the spring of 1962 to discuss a new constitution resulted in a deadlock. A further conference early in 1963 succeeded in reconciling the demands of the two main parties and general agreement was reached on a new constitution as the basis for Kenya's eventual independence. The constitution provided for the establishment of seven regions, each with its own assembly with power to deal with specified local matters, and for a bi-cameral central legislature holding residual powers. The constitution enabodied a number of compromises designed to safeguard one tribal group from demination by another but with a sufficiently strong government to run the country efficiently.



Prime Minister Kenyatta waves to the crowd immediately after receiving the instruments of Kenya's independence from the Duke of Edinburgh.

On June 1, 1963, following a general election in which KANU gained a substantial majority of seats in the House of Representatives, the party's leader, Mr. Jomo Kenyatta, was sworn in as the first Prime Minister of a self-governing Kenya and called upon to form the government which would lead Kenya to independence.

Manority Tribes

Although the elections gave KANU control of the Central Government, KADU gained majorities in three of the regional assemblies. At a final conference held in September, KANU won changes in the constitution which reduced the autonomy and authority of the regions and strengthened the position of the Central Government. KADU leaders are apprehensive that KANU will make further