1866 British Columbia and Vancouver Island united as one Colony;

1867 British North America Act;

1870 Province of Manitoba formed;

1870 N. W. Territories organized with a Lieut.-Governor and small nominated Council;

1871 British Columbia admitted into Dominion;

1873 Prince Edward Island admitted;

1876 Manitoba abolished Legislative Council;

1888 N. W. Territories receive a Legislative Assembly;

1904 Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan formed.