many as twenty thousand people in that region who had emigrated thitherward from other States. These people had enjoyed the benefit of British laws as administered in colonial courts. They were not then disposed to accept in their place the "Coutume de Paris" or any other system of French law in place of the law to which they had been accustomed. Thus a very large auxiliary force was added to the small number of Anglo-Canadian subjects settled in the districts of Montreal and Quebec, to aid in protesting against the French law.

In 1784, following the treaty of peace between the United States and Britain, a large number of subjects of the King in the now enfranchised colonies south of the St. Lawrence and the great lakes who preferred Monarchial to Republican government, and came to Canada, settled on the banks of the St. Lawrence. These emigrants to Canada, called the United Empire Loyalists, on their arrival in Canada soon found that their situation was not much improved if they were to be relegated to the old. and, in their view, antiquated laws of France. They left the United States especially to place themselves under British law, and this they determined to have. In this particular they only held to the same opinion as had influenced the people of the Ohio Valley when they, between 1774 and 1783, made their protest against being governed by French law.

In 1788 Lord Dorchester, acting for the King, styling His Majesty King of Great Britain, France, and Ireland, issued a proclamation reciting the ordinances of the Province, dividing the Province into two districts, and proclaimed that thereafter the Province should be divided into five Provinces, namely: Lunenburg, bounded on the eastern limit by a tract of land called by the name of "The Lancaster Tract," the western limit of which should be the mouth of the Gananoque River, or as then called, the Thames River; Mecklenburg, to adjoin Lunenburg on the west, and to extend to the mouth of the river Trent; Nassau, to adjoin Mecklenburg, and extend