- 3 -

"In carrying out his duties and functions under this Act, the Minister may consult with and inaugurate conferences of provincial or municipal authorities, universities, representatives of industry or other interested persons."

In this connection, the first national conference of Canada's forest ministers was held in Ottawa on October 21 and 22, 1963, with all ten provincial ministers present and the federal Minister of Forestry as chairman.

In order to carry out its responsibilities, the Department of Forestry of Canada is organized into four branches — three research and one administration — plus an economics division, and operates from its headquarters in Ottawa through 23 regional establishments, research laboratories and experiment stations spread across the country from St. John's, Newfoundland, to Victoria, British Columbia. Somewhat broadly presented, the following are the areas of activity of the Federal Department:

Forest Management

The Department of Forestry is responsible for the protection and management of forests on certain military training areas on behalf of the Department of National Defence. It acts as consultant to the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, the federal department responsible for the administration, protection and management of the forests of the Yukon and Northwest Territories and national parks, and to the Department of Citizenship and Immigration with respect to Indian reserves. The Forestry Department also conducts forest surveys on lands in all the above categories.

Public Information

The Information and Technical Services Division of the Department is responsible for the development and maintenance of a comprehensive public information programme on forestry matters, with special emphasis on the research activities of the Department.

Besides initiating programmes of its own, the Department seeks to assist the provincial forest agencies, the forest industries and resource associations in their information activities.

Federal-Provincial Forestry Agreements

Although main emphasis is placed on the research role of the Department of Forestry, approximately half its Parliamentary appropriations is paid over the to the provinces under the Federal-Provincial Forestry Agreements. For most classes of shared-cost projects, a dollar-for-dollar division of costs between the Federal Government and the provinces is in effect.

The first agreements under the Canada Forestry Act of 1949 became operative in the fiscal year 1951-52, and provided federal financial contributions for the preparation of provincial forest inventories and for reforestation of unoccupied Crown lands.

Over the past 12 years, under the inventory programme, seven of the provinces have completed provincial forest inventories totalling nearly 1,000,000 square miles. They are now engaged in maintaining them and carrying out surveys of a more detailed nature. The inventory information thus made available has resulted in the opening of forest industries in hitherto undeveloped areas, and has resulted in the curtailment of cutting in some areas which were being over-exploited.