July 31. Six agree on twice-yearly ministerial meetings on political co-operation.

October 1. Trade agreements with Israel and Spain come into force.

1971 January 1. Second Yaoundé and Arusha Conventions come into force. Community's "own revenue" system comes into operation.

February 1. Common fisheries policy takes effect.

April 1. Association with Malta in effect. **July 1.** EC introduces generalized tariff preferences for 91 developing countries.

October 28. British House of Commons accepts principle of entry into Community by 356 votes to 244.

1972 **1972 January 22.** "Ten" sign Accession Treaty.

March 22. Sicco L. Mansholt becomes Commission President.

April 17. Council issues directives on farm-modernization.

April 19. Six sign agreement for European University Institute in Florence, Italy.

April 23. French electorate, voting in a referendum, approves Community's enlargement.

May 10. In referendum, large majority of Irish electorate votes for Community membership. Association agreement signed with Mauritius.

June 23. Britain "floats" the pound. Britain, Ireland and Denmark temporarily withdraw from EEC agreement to maintain narrow margins of currency fluctuation.

July 14. Court upholds Commission's fines on chemical firms for fixing price of amiline dyestuffs.

July 22. Community signs free-trade agreements with Austria, Iceland, Portugal, Sweden and Switzerland. September 26. Norwegian entry to Community is rejected by referendum. October 19-20. Community leaders at a summit meeting in Paris decide on a timetable for the Community's work. December 18. Trade agreements with Egypt and Lebanon signed. December 19. Association agreement with Cyprus signed.

1973 January 1. Britain, Ireland and Denmark join the Community. January 6. Thirteen-member Commission, headed by François-Xavier Ortoli, takes office.

February 1. Convention making civil and commercial judgments enforceable throughout the original six Community members comes into force.

March 12. Community currencies (except those of Britain, Ireland and Italy) float jointly within "snake" against dollar.

April 2. Trade agreement signed with Uruguay.

April 6. European Monetary Cooperation Fund set up in Brussels. May 14. Community signs free-trade agreement with Norway.

July 19-20. At first Council session on environmental questions, the Nine agree on guiding principles. October 5. Twenty-one countries endorse European Patent Convention. November 6. Community foreign ministers issue joint declaration on the Middle East.

December 14-15. Community summit meeting in Copenhagen adopts statement on Europe's identity.

December 17. Trade agreement signed with India.

December 19. Trade agreement signed with Brazil.

1974 February 11-13. The Community attends Washington Energy Conference. France refuses to endorse Conference conclusions.

1974

April 20. Canada proposes closer links with Community.

June 4. Britain presents its proposals for "renegotiation" of entry terms. September 14. EC heads of government and Commission President Ortoli meet in Paris.

October 11. UN General Assembly unanimously approves observer status for Community, enabling it to participate in Assembly's sessions and committee work.

October 23-25. Canadian Prime Minister Trudeau visits Commission. December 9-10. Meeting in Paris, Community heads of government set up Regional Development Fund. December 17. Australian Prime Minister Whitlam visits Commission. December 17. Energy ministers agree to

reduce Community's dependence on foreign energy to 40-50 per cent of total by 1985.

1975 February 28. The Nine and 46 African, Caribbean and Pacific countries sign a trade and aid convention in Lomé, Togo.

March 10-11. "Renegotiation" of British entry terms concluded at first "European Council" — gathering of Community heads of government in Dublin. June 5. In a referendum, British electorate votes to remain in Community. 1.