THE COUNTY COUNCIL.

(By S. E. MITCHELL, CO. CLERK.)

The following of an historical character regarding the County Council, from Mr Mitchell's pen, can well find a place in the "Story of Renfrew."

RETROSPECTIVE

Our Fathers, where are they?

The Canada Gazette of the 8th of June, 1861, contained a proclamation of the Governor General, in obedience to which the reeves of the County of Renfrew met in the Village of Renfrew, on Thursday, the 20th June, 1861, and formed themselves into the Provisional Council of the County of Renfrew, with T. P. French as Warden, and S. G. Lynn as secretary, pending the appointment of a permanent Clerk. The following is the list of members composing this Provisional Council, viz :-

- 1. Brown, William; Township of Stafford.
- 2. Burwash, Nathaniel; Township of McNab.
- 3. Carswell, Thomas M.; Township of Westmeath.
- 4. Devine, Felix; Township of Bagot, Blythfield and Brougham.
- 5. French, Thomas P.: Township of Sebastopol and Griffith.
- 6. Gibbons, William; Township of Admaston.
- 7. Gorman, Michael; Township of Pembroke.
- 8. Gould, Jason; Township of Ross.
- 9. Jamieson, William; Township of Horton.
- 10. Lett, Thomas; Township of Wilberforce.
- 11. Lynn, Samuel G.; Township of Grattan and Algona.
- 12. McConnell, Benj.; Township of Rolph, Buchanan, &c.
- 13. Mulligan, Michael; Township of Bromley.
 - 14. Munroe, John; Renfrew Village.

- 15. Reynolds, John; Township of Brudenell.
- 16. Rowan, John; Township of Alice. White Richard; Pembroke Village. John Hickey was appointed Clerk and

Andrew Irving Treasurer, at this session. All these are dead save one-John Rowan, of Alice,-who removed to and still lives in the territory now known as New Ontario.

The most important function with which this Provisional Council was charged was the erection of county buildings at Pembroke, which by Act of Parliament had been selected as the County Town. Until the necessary buildings were provided to the satisfaction of the Government, the union between Lanark and Renfrew could not be dissolved. This having been accomplished, a proclamation appeared in the Canada Gazette of the 25th of August, 1866, separating the County of Renfrew from the County of Lanark, to take effect and the first meeting of the Council of the County of Renfrew to be held on the 10th day of October, 1866, at the new county town. The first meeting of the first Council of the newly erected County, accordingly took place, and the Provisional Council of the year became the Council of the Corporation of the County of Renfrew; John Rankin, Reeve of Ross, being the Warden.

This first Council was composed of the following:

- 1. Bonfield, James, Grattan.
- Brown, William, Stafford.
- 3. Burton, William, Horton.
- Carswell, Thos. M., Westmeath.
- 5. Cardiff, George, Admaston. 6. Devine, Felix, Renfrew.
- 7. Fisher, John, McNab.
- 8. Foster, Archibald, Pembroke Township.
- 9. Gallagher, John, Sebastopol.