Government Orders

Greene Gustafson Hawkes Hockin Holtmann Hudon James Jelinek Kempling

Koury Layton Lewis Lopez Malone

Martin (Lincoln) McDougall (St. Paul's) Monteith Oherle Plamondon Porter Redway Reimer Richardson Roy-Arcelin

Scott (Hamilton-Wentworth)

Sparrow Tardif Thacker Tremblay (Rosemont) Turner (Halton-Peel)

Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)

Worthy-114

Guilbault Halliday Hicks Hogue Horning Hughes

Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast)

Larrivée Leblanc (Longueuil) Loiselle MacDougall (Timiskaming) Marin

McDermid Merrithew Nicholson Paproski Plourde Pronovost Reid Ricard Robitaille Scott (Victoria-Haliburton)

Sobeski

Stevenson Tétreault Thorkelson Tremblay (Lotbinière) Vincent Wilbee

Winegard

NAYS

Members

Allmand Assad Bélair Benjamin Black Blondin Butland Campbell (South West Nova) Clancy Dionne

Ferguson Fisher Fontana Gaffney Gauthier Guarnieri Hopkins Hunter Karpoff

Kilger (Stormont - Dundas) Langan (Mission-Coquitlam) MacDonald (Dartmouth) MacWilliam Manley Marleau

Mifflin Mitchell Nault Parent Pickard Rideout Robichaud Simmons Stewart Volpe Wood

Anawak

Axworthy (Saskatoon-Clark's Crossing) Bellemare

Bevilacqua Blackburn (Brant) Boudria Callbeck Catterall Crawford Duhamel Finestone Fulton Gardiner

Gray (Windsor West) Harb

Hoydebo Jordan Keves Kristiansen MacAulay MacLellan Maheu Marchi McGuire Milliken Murphy Nystrom Parker Prud'homme Riis Rompkey Skelly (Comox-Alberni)

Whittaker

Young (Gloucester) - 72

• (1600)

[Translation]

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): I declare the motion carried.

Mr. Guy Saint-Julien (Abitibi): Madam Speaker, on a point of order.

The Acting Speaker (Mrs. Champagne): The hon. member for Abitibi, on a point of order.

Mr. Saint-Julien: Madam Speaker, I abstained from voting on this motion because mining companies in my riding have a problem with Section 181 of this Bill.

[English]

Mr. White: Madam Speaker, I was late arriving for the vote, but I would like it recorded that had I been here I would have voted with the government.

GOVERNMENT ORDERS

[English]

CROP INSURANCE ACT

MEASURE TO AMEND

Hon. Doug Lewis (for the Minister of Agriculture) moved that Bill C-48, an act to amend the Crop Insurance Act, be read the second time and referred to a legislative committee.

Mr. Murray Cardiff (Parliamentary Secretary to Deputy Prime Minister, President of the Privy Council and Minister of Agriculture): Madam Speaker, I am very pleased to present to the House for second reading Bill C-48, which is legislation amending the Crop Insurance

This new legislation amending the Crop Insurance Act is crucial to protect Canadian farmers from economic losses due to uncontrollable natural hazards such as drought, hail, and waterfowl, and many other elements of weather that are uncontrollable by man. Without that protection farmers can face extreme financial hardships. Such risks and disasters are unacceptable for individual producers and our agricultural crop industry in general.