matter coming within any of the classes of subject enumerated in this section; and

16) generally all matters of a merely local or private nature in the province and not enumerated in Section 91 as a matter coming under federal jurisdiction.

Furthermore, in and for each province the legislature may, under Section 93, make laws exclusively in relation to education, subject to certain restrictions relating to rights or privileges held by certain religious denominations with respect to schools.

As has been noted in the discussion of federal legislative jurisdiction, the provinces share powers of legislation respecting agriculture and immigration, and have an overriding legislative jurisdiction with respect to old-age pensions and supplementary benefits.

Provincial franchise

Any man or woman who fulfils age, residency or domiciliary requirements, is a Canadian citizen (or, in some provinces, any British subject), and is not otherwise disqualified is, generally speaking, qualified to vote in a provincial election. A majority of the provinces (Alberta, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan) have fixed their ages of majority, and thus their voting age, at 18. The other three provinces (British Columbia, Newfoundland and Nova Scotia) have chosen the age of 19.

The territories

The lands at present encompassed by the Northwest Territories and the Yukon were lands -- either British possessions or British lands granted to the Hudson's Bay Company -- that were, by virtue of a series of Acts and Orders-in-Council from 1868 to 1880, admitted into the union and became part of the Dominion. In 1897, the judicial district of the Yukon was set apart from the Territories, and in 1898 by an Act of Parliament the Yukon was constituted and declared to be a separate territory. Other portions of the old Northwest Territories were formed into and/or added to the provinces of Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta by virtue of legislation in the period 1870-1912.

The Northwest Territories

The Northwest Territories at present comprise:

(a) all that part of Canada north of the 60th Parallel of North