## II

## GENERAL ASSEMBLY

The General Assembly is composed of all member states of the United Nations. It meets in regular session once a year in New York, usually during the autumn. When necessary, it may also, in accordance with established procedures, meet in special or emergency sessions. Although the Assembly deals with some items in plenary session, it refers most of them to one of seven main committees, on which all member states have the right to be represented. They are:

First Committee
Special Political Committee

Second Committee

Third Committee

Fourth Committee

Fifth Committee
Sixth Committee

— Political and Security

- Economic and Financial

 Social, Humanitarian and Cultural

Trusteeship, including Non-Self-Governing Territories

— Administrative and Budgetary

— Legal

These committees prepare recommendations and draft resolutions on the agenda items concerned for submission to the Assembly in plenary session.<sup>1</sup>

The General Assembly completed its nineteenth regular session<sup>2</sup> on September 1, 1965, when it met formally to conclude its work and to accept the report of the Special Committee on Peace-keeping Operations, which it had set up in February to conduct a comprehensive review of the question of peace-keeping operations in all their aspects, including ways of overcoming the financial difficulties of the Organization. Although unable to reach agreement on future arrangements for peace-keeping operations, the Committee was able to arrive at a consensus which provided that the Assembly would

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>The mechanics of a session of the General Assembly are described in the October 1963 issue of External Affairs.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>The nineteenth session commenced on December 1, 1964, and recessed on February 18, 1965. It met again on September 1, 1965, as noted above. See *Canada and the United Nations 1964*.