Company of Young Canadians Act

seeking to resolve problems such as poverty and disease abroad through the activities of the Company would not be met. In fact, there would be an adverse result. Until we get the Company to fulfil its objectives properly at home, we should not export it abroad. For that reason, the members of this party cannot support the amendment.

We believe this debate should come to a close so that the government may go on to discharge its responsibility of trying to work with this new agency, which is so far from the original concept of the Company that it is an entirely different vehicle. We have expressed our opinion on that, and we do not think we should take any more time to have the opinions of members canvassed upon it. Let the government and the Company get on with their work. Perhaps the Company will fulfil the expectations of the minister by contributing to the solution of problems at the community level in the way that Mr. Pearson intended. But, Mr. Speaker, Mr. Pearson certainly did not want or envisage the creature that we are creating today.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the said motion? All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

The Acting Speaker (Mr. Béchard): Call in the members.

And the members having been called in:

• (5:50 p.m.)

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. The House will now proceed to the deferred division on motion No. 1 in relation to Bill C-176, an act to amend the Company of Young Canadians Act. The hon. member for Halifax-East Hants (Mr. McCleave) moved:

That Bill C-176, an Act to amend the Company of Young Canadians Act, be amended by adding in section 4(1) in clause 1, the words "of whom three shall be elected by volunteer-members and the remainder" after the word "members" in line 16 and deleting the word "who" in line 17.

[Mr. Nowlan.]

The House divided on motion No. 1 (Mr. McCleave) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Aiken MacEwan MacInnis (Mrs.) Alexander Asselin MacLean Beaudoin MacRae McCleave Bell Benjamin McIntosh Mather Bigg Broadbent Matte Burton Mazankowski Cadieu (Meadow Lake) Monteith Coates Muir (Cape Breton-The Sydneys) Comeau Crouse Muir (Lisgar) Danforth Nesbitt Dionne Nielsen Douglas (Nanaimo-Noble Cowichan-The Nowlan Islands) Orlikow Dumont Peters Flemming Ritchie Forrestall Rodrigue Fortin Rondeau Gauthier Rose Gilbert Ryan Gleave Rynard Godin Saltsman Gundlock Schumacher Hales Skoberg Harding Skorevko Horner Southam Howard (Skeena) Stewart (Marquette) Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Tétrault Thomas (Moncton) Knowles (Norfolk-Thomson (Battleford-Haldimand) Kindersley) Korchinski Valade

NAYS

Winch

Kierans

Yewchuk-71.

Messrs:

Allmand Deakon Anderson Duquet Badanai Émard Forest Barrett Béchard Foster Benson Francis Blouin Gendron Buchanan Gervais Caccia Gibson Cadieux (Labelle) Givens Cafik Goode Chappell Chrétien Guay (St. Boniface) Clermont Cobbe Guay (Lévis) Comtois Haidasz Côté (Richelieu) Hopkins Côté (Longueuil) Hymmen Cullen Jerome Kaplan Cyr

Lambert (Bellechasse)

Laprise

La Salle

Davis

Deachman