HOUSE OF COMMONS

Division

Some hon. Members: Question.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Howard) which was negatived on the following division:

Argue Badanai Batten Benidickson Boulanger Bourget Bourque Cardin Caron Carter Chevrier Crestohl Deschatelets Dumas Dupuis Eudes Fisher Forgie Granger Habel Hellyer Herridge

Howard

YEAS Messrs:

Leduc Lessard Loiselle McIlraith McMillan McWilliam Martin (Essex East) Martin (Timmins) Meunier Mitchell Peters Pickersgill Racine Ratelle Regier Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche) Roberge Robichaud Rouleau Tardif Winch-44.

NAYS

Messrs:

Aiken Aitken, Miss Anderson Asselin Balcer Baldwin Barrington Beech Bell (Carleton) Bell (Saint John-Albert) Belzile Bigg Bissonnette Bourbonnais Brooks Broome Browne (Vancouver-Kingsway) Bruchesi Brunsden Campbell (Lambton-Kent) Campbell (Stormont) Cardiff Casselman, Mrs. Cathers Chambers Charlton Chown Churchill Clancy Comtois Cooper Crouse Danforth Dinsdale Dorion Doucett Drouin Dubois English Fairclough, Mrs. Fairfield [Mr. Speaker.]

Fane Fleming (Eglinton) Fleming (Okanagan-Revelstoke) Forbes Fortin Fraser Frechette Fulton Grafftey Green Grills Gundlock Halpenny Hamilton (Notre Dame de Grace) Hamilton (Qu'Appelle) Hamilton (York West) Hanbidge Harkness Hees Henderson Hicks Hodgson Horner (Acadia) Howe Johnson Jones Jorgenson Jung Kennedy Knowles Lambert Latour Legere Lennard Macdonnell MacInnis MacLean (Queens) MacLean (Winnipeg North Centre) MacLellan Macquarrie

MacRae McDonald (Hamilton South) McFarlane McGee McIntosh McLennan McPhillips McQuillan Mandziuk Martineau Martini Matthews Monteith (Perth) Monteith (Verdun) Montgomery Morissette Morris Morton Muir (Cape Breton North and Victoria) Murphy Nesbitt Nielsen Noble Nugent O'Hurley O'Leary Pallett Parizeau Pascoe Payne Pearkes

Phillips Pigeon Rapp Regnier Ricard Rogers Rompre Simpson Skoreyko Slogan Small Smallwood Smith (Calgary South) Smith (Winnipeg North) Southam Speakman Spencer Stanton Starr Stearns Stefanson Stewart Tassé Thompson Thrasher Tremblay Villeneuve Vivian Walker Webb White Winkler Wratten-145.

IMMIGRATION

ANNOUNCEMENT OF AMENDMENT TO REGULATIONS RESPECTING FIANCEES

Hon. Ellen L. Fairclough (Minister of Citizenship and Immigration): Mr. Speaker, may I ask permission to revert to motions to make an announcement?

Mr. Speaker: Has the minister permission to revert to motions to make an announcement?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Mrs. Fairclough: I wish to make an announcement with reference to an amendment to the immigration regulations as they affect the admission of fiancees. Heretofore the fiancee of a Canadian citizen or of a person admitted to Canada for permanent residence was admitted as an immigrant on the condition that he or she would marry the sponsoring fiancee within 30 days following arrival in Canada.

In future fiancees will be allowed entry as non-immigrants under the authority of a minister's permit issued under section 8 of the Immigration Act. Admission for permanent residence will be granted only after they have married.

The effect of this amendment is to provide more flexibility for the handling of fiancee applications and to expedite the granting of permanent residence to fiancees once they have become legally married.

3776