- 2. That no text be prescribed for History but that the work be outlined in the form of topics.
- 3. That, in graded schools, sets of supplementary readers for Junior classes be provided by the trustees.
- 4. Whereas it is desirable to bring the work of the Intermediate Schools into closer relation to that of the University, it is suggested that an elementary course in Latin be made optional with the Agriculture, Physiology and Drawing for Third Class Certificates, these subjects being practically covered in the lower grades.

Department of Education, Manitoba.

. The following is a list of the Inspectoral Divisions of the Province:

The Western Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Ellice, Birtle, Shoal Lake, Archie, Strathclair, Miniota, Hamiota, Wallace, Woodsworth, Pipestone and Sifton, with Mr. S. E. Lang, Virden, as Inspector, assisted by Mr. Goulet.

The South-Western Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Arthur, Cameron, Winchester, Brenda, Whitewater, Morton, Riverside, Turtle Mountain, with Mr. H. S. Maclean, Killarney, as Inspector.

The South-Central Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Argyle, Louise, South Norfolk (south of the Assiniboine River) Lorne, Pembina, Stanley, with Mr. W. J. Cram, Morden, as Inspector, assisted by Mr. Goulet.

The North-Eastern Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Posen, St. Laurent, Woodlands, Rosser, Gimli, Rockwood, St. Andrews, Brokenhead, St. Clements, Assiniboia, St. James, Kildonan, St. Paul, and all the unorganized territory to the North and East of these Municipalities, with Mr. E. E. Best, Winnipeg, as Inspector.

The South-Eastern Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Dufferin, Macdonald, Moncalm, Franklin, DeSalaberry, LaBroquerie, Tache. Springfield, Ritchot, St. Boniface, Morris, St. Francois Xavier, and all territory to the East of the Municipalities, with Mr. A. L. Young, 533 Ross Avenue, Winnipeg, and Mr. R. Goulet, St. Boniface, as joint Inspectors.

The North-Central Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Clanwilliam, Odanah, Rosedale, Langford, Lansdowne, Westbourne, North Norfolk, Portage la Prairie, South Norfolk (north of the Assiniboine River) with Mr. T. M. Maguire, Portage la Prairie, as Inspector.

The Brandon Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Harrison, Blanchard, Daly, Saskatchewan, Elton, North Cypress, Whitehead, Cornwallis, Glenwood, Oakland, South Cypress, with Mr. A. S. Rose, Brandon, as Inspector.

The North-Western Division to comprise the following lands:—The Municipalities of Rossburn, Silver Creek, Russell, Shell River, Boulton, Dauphin, and all the unorganized territory North and East of these Municipalities, with Mr. A. W. Hooper, Dauphin, as Inspector, assisted by Mr. Goulet.

The Mennonite Division to comprise the Municipalities of Hanover and Rhineland, with Mr. H. H. Ewert Gretna, as Inspector.