HYMNAL COMMITTEE

le

ŀ

IS

n

g

t

65

and Messrs. A. MacMillan, J. A. Macdonnell, W. J. Dey, Robert Murray, Joseph Henderson, James Gibson, John H. Thorn, Dr. W. B. Geikie, and W. B. McMurrich, with power to carefully and critically revise the text of the hymns with a view to correct any verbal inaccuracies and any needless departures from the original text, conduct correspondence in regard to copyright hymns, and generally oversee the work.

It was further agreed that the copyright for the Book of Praise for hymns and tunes should be secured in the names of the Rev. Dr. Gregg and W. B. McMurrich, to be held by them in trust for the Presbyterian Church in Canada. The sub-committee on tunes and the Musical Editing Committee were also re-appointed. The Executive Committee were named as the Publishing Committee.

At the meeting of the following day, in accordance with the recommendation adopted by the Assembly, Dr. Scrimger, Robert Murray, and W. J. Dey were appointed a committee to act with similar committees of other Churches for the revision of the Psalter, and in the event of any of these being unable to attend, the Executive Committee was granted power to appoint a substitute.

F