**Senator Perrault:** It was not the iniquitous tax that the Prime Minister described in his rare appearance on the open line show.

Senator Doody: It is a terrible tax, as most taxes are.

EXCISE TAX ACT
CRIMINAL CODE
CUSTOMS ACT
CUSTOMS TARIFF
EXCISE ACT
INCOME TAX ACT
STATISTICS ACT
TAX COURT OF CANADA ACT

BILL TO AMEND—THIRD READING—MOTION IN AMENDMENT NEGATIVED

The Hon. the Speaker: Pursuant to provisional order P-3(a), the Senate will now proceed to the vote on the motion in amendment of Senator MacEachen to Bill C-62. Call in the senators.

The Hon. the Speaker: Let the doors to the chamber be locked

Honourable senators, it was moved by the Honourable Senator Kelly, seconded by the Honourable Senator Beaudoin that thie Bill C-62 be read the third time.

In amendment, it was moved by the Honourable Senator MacEachen, P.C., seconded by the Honourable Senator Frith:

That Bill C-62 be not now read the third time but that the Schedule of the Bill be amended, on page 342, to make provision for reading material by adding to Schedule VI, and numbering accordingly, a new heading and Part as follows:

# "READING MATERIAL

1. A supply of a book, periodical literature or other reading material."

Motion in amendment negatived on the following division: Insert Division . . . . .

#### YEAS

# THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Adams	Lefebvre
Austin	Lewis
Bonnell	Lucier
Bosa	MacEachen
Buckwold	Marchand
Cools	Marsden
Corbin	Molgat
Croll	Neiman
Davey	Olson

### YEAS

### THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

De Bané	Perrault
Fairbairn	Petten
Frith	Riel
Gigantès	Rizzuto
Grafstein	Robichaud
Graham	Sparrow
Haidasz	Stanbury
Hastings	Steuart
Hays	(Prince Albert-
Hébert	Duke Lake)
Kenny	Stewart
Kirby	(Antigonish-
Kolber	Guysborough)
Lang	Stollery
Lawson	Thériault
LeBlanc	Turner
(Beauséjour)	van Roggen
Leblanc	Waters
(Saurel)	Watt
	Wood—51

#### NAYS

## THE HONOURABLE SENATORS

Atkins	Keon
Balfour	Kinsella
Barootes	Lavoie-Roux
Beaudoin	Lynch-Stauntor
Beaulieu	Macdonald
Bélisle	(Cape Breton
Berntson	MacDonald
Bolduc	(Halifax)
Buchanan	Macquarrie
Carney	Marshall
Castonguay	Meighen
Chaput-Rolland	Molson
Charbonneau	Muir
Cochrane	Murray
Cogger	Nurgitz
Comeau	Oliver
David	Ottenheimer
DeWare	Phillips
Di Nino	Poitras
Doody	Robertson
Doyle	Roblin
Eyton	Ross
Forrestall	Rossiter
Grimard	Simard
Hatfield	Spivak
Johnson	Sylvain
Kelleher	Teed
Kelly	Tremblay
	Twinn—55