with the provincially assisted university system, which comprises 19 institutions: 16 universities (Brock, Carleton, Guelph, Lakehead, Laurentian, McMaster, Ottawa, Queen's, Ryerson Polytechnical Institute, Toronto, Trent, Waterloo, Western Ontario, Wilfrid Laurier, Windsor and York) and three institutes (Ontario College of Art, Ontario Institute of Studies in Education and the Royal Military College of Canada). In enrolment size, these institutions show a great diversity: five institutions have fewer than 5 000 full-time students, seven range from 5 000 to 12 000 students, three from 12 000 to 17 000, while one university, Toronto, enrols more than 35 000 students.

The 16 provincially supported universities are members of the Council of Ontario Universities (COU). This organization provides a focus for the interaction of the universities with one another, participates in the decision-making process of the system as a whole, is usually the collective voice in matters which concern all institutions, and maintains liaison between the universities and the government and its agencies.

The Ontario Council on University Affairs (OCUA) is the intermediary body between the government and the universities. As the government's main adviser in matters relating to the university sector, OCUA reviews the annual funding proposals submitted to it by individual institutions and COU, and then advises the government on the total level of support and its allocation to the universities.

Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia: Although the four western provinces do not have a single university system, there are two bodies that provide for some links between the individual provincial systems. The Western Canada Post-Secondary Co-ordinating Committee provides a forum for discussion and action by the four provincial ministers responsible for higher education, and the Council of Western Canadian University Presidents (COWCUP) represents the universities in the region. As an illustration of western co-operation, mention can be made of an interprovincial agreement to centralize the training of veterinarians by the establishment of a single school for the region, the Western College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan.

The university systems in Manitoba and British Columbia bear a great deal of resemblance. In both provinces, the system consists of a relatively small number of universities: three in Manitoba (Brandon, Manitoba and Winnipeg), and four in British Columbia (British Columbia, Simon Fraser, Trinity Western, and Victoria). In each province, an advisory body has been established by the government to act as an intermediary between the minister responsible for higher education and the universities: the Universities Grants Commission in Manitoba, and the Universities Council